need help with oc'ing 1100t

Status
Not open for further replies.

eiflegend

Baseband Member
greetings! i'm a noob and am having some difficulties getting my AMD x6 1100t overclocked past 3.7ghzs. everywhere i go everyone talks about how easy it is to get this thing to at least a 3.8, but that's not what i'm observing here. my specs are as follows:

amd x6 1100t black edition 3.3ghz
asetek 510lc cooler
8gb standard 1600 ram (2 4gb sticks)
hd 6970 gpu
ASUS M4A87TD EVO mobo
Thermaltake TR2 W0319RU psu
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

right now i have everything at stock, and i think theres a major problem going on, and the reason why overclocking is not working for me. my cpu vcore voltages are fluctuating like crazy. i can open up cpu-z and watch it change every few seconds - from 1.32v to 1.45v. and what's interesting is that under load the voltage decreases. i have cool and quiet, c1e and asus core unlocker disabled in bios. LLC is on auto. cpu voltage is on auto as well but even if i manually set it to say 1.3v it still fluctuates the same. idk what to do, im thinking this is some kind of hardware problem. the system is running fine without any problems but i dont think this is normal. does anyone know what i could try and do to stabilize the voltages?

well i did some research and found out that the drop in voltage under load is the mobos way of preventing damage to the cpu, so that's good. i got it to 3.725ghzs stable increasing the bus frequency, any higher than that and it's unstable. i'd like to list some observations so that hopefully someone could help me out with this
1. increasing the multiplier past 18 causes instant instability. intelburn stops, blue screens, problems during windows startup. increasing voltage to the cpu does not seem to help at all, and my only option is to use the bus frequency