Need help on New comp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2004, 11:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 54
Default Need help on New comp

Ok i need some help putting together a decent gaming system for My brother. He dosent game all the time but needs something that can play some games every now and then. Also i am trying to keep the cost at a min.

Was wondering if i can reuse his Amd xp 2200 ~1.8 GHZ (is it worth it to keep or get a new one?)

I need the following:
Case with a decent PSU
Memory about 512MB should do it
Motherboard
Videocard (nothing too fancy prefer under $150 USD)
CDRW (no need for dvd burner)
and if i dont reuse the AMD 2200 ill need a different processor

Thanks
-Droot
__________________

__________________
mmmmmm Easton Classic
Droot is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 12:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

This is what you could do, depending on your budget.

an Radeon 9800pro (150-200)
1 gb of ram
3ghz amd cpu
120 or 160 gb hard drive
cdrw anything you find
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 12:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AND_YOU_ARE
This is what you could do, depending on your budget.

an Radeon 9800pro (150-200)
1 gb of ram
3ghz amd cpu
120 or 160 gb hard drive
cdrw anything you find
They do not make AMD 3ghz CPU's. For light gaming the 2200+ will run fine. But if he is running newer games you might consider upgrading for the overhead and the extra cache on the chip.

He will most likely need PC3200 RAM, but 1GB is a lil' much for the light gamer (he did not specify a newer game so i'm guessing CS style graphics) 512MB should do fine if you think it's enough.


Again with the HD...120GB is way too much for a light gamer unless he also burn's DVD''s to his HD, has a library (huge) of mp3's, is running a number of large scale apps. an 80GB drive should be plenty even for the hardcore gamer with lots of games installed.

i think the 9800pro is a fine card, good call on that one.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 08:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

the equivlant to a 3ghz cpu, i thought most people would make the connection to the Athlon 3000+
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 09:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AND_YOU_ARE
the equivlant to a 3ghz cpu, i thought most people would make the connection to the Athlon 3000+
ah ok i see what you mean, i read it literally.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 10:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Hard drives are cheap today so it wouldnt hurt to go with something a little larger looking to the future.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 10:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AND_YOU_ARE
Hard drives are cheap today so it wouldnt hurt to go with something a little larger looking to the future.
yah i see what you mean there too. but because he did not list a budget, and he said he wanted a "light gaming machine" i figured his budget would be ~$500. And a $120GB 72K 8MB drive is easily a good chunk of that. If he can get the basic CPU, MOBO, RAM, Vid card...and still has enough for the 120GB then yah he can get it...it will keep him with alot of overhead space.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 11-25-2004, 05:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

LOL yeah me to. Yeah saying 3ghz is wrong. 3000+ is just the name of the processor, not the frequency.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.