Need help with i7 and triple channel OC'ing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2009, 05:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 178
Default Need help with i7 and triple channel OC'ing

I just recently put together an i7 build and I am a little confused about some things regarding overclocking of the CPU and RAM.
I've checked out youtube tutorials and other guides but its not really clicking with me so I was hoping someone knowledgeable could help me out with a few questions.
I am using the P6T motherboard and have the i7 920 D0.
For Ram I have this set: OCZ DDR3 PC3-12800 Platinum 3x2GB OCZ3P1600LV6GK OCZ DDR3 PC3-12800 Platinum 3x2GB OCZ3P1600LV6GK [OCZ3P1600LV6GK] - $195.00 : PC Case Gear, Quality case accessories and components

I have been basically upping the baseclock from the default 133 to about 150 resulting in a core speed of about 3.1ghz.
I notice that when my system is sitting idle with just firefox or foobar open the core speed will drop to about 1.6ghz is this the power saving feature of the P6T or is this unusual?

I am kind of confused when it comes to ram. Is it best to try and run my ram at a certain frequency or just focus on getting the lowest timings possible. Currently it is set to 1066mhz.

When I up the ram frequency the timings get higher and when I lower them the timings are lower. I need some direction on what I should be aiming for

And with the FSBRAM ratio is 2:8 healthy or should it be something else?

Anyway this is how it looks at the moment:
[/IMG]

I appreciate any advice!
__________________

Domestic is offline  
Old 06-23-2009, 05:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Need help with i7 and triple channel OC'ing

The reason for your speed to drop is that you have speedstep enabled.

try starting with a bclk of 160 (this will be no problem at stock vcore) and set your ram to its stock 1600.

You will need to bump up the ram voltage to its rated 1.65v.

You may need to set the timings manually. 7-7-7-24 are the stock settings. Best to start here.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 06-23-2009, 07:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 178
Default Re: Need help with i7 and triple channel OC'ing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
The reason for your speed to drop is that you have speedstep enabled.

try starting with a bclk of 160 (this will be no problem at stock vcore) and set your ram to its stock 1600.

You will need to bump up the ram voltage to its rated 1.65v.

You may need to set the timings manually. 7-7-7-24 are the stock settings. Best to start here.
Ok thanks I will do that.
Also is it better to have speedstep on or off if I am not concerned about saving power etc.?
Domestic is offline  
Old 06-23-2009, 07:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Need help with i7 and triple channel OC'ing

not concerned about power saving then turn it off.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 06-23-2009, 07:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 178
Default Re: Need help with i7 and triple channel OC'ing

Ok I set to the baseclock to 160. The closest I can select for my ram to 1600 is 1604. Is that ok, if not do I have to change the voltage or something?
Domestic is offline  
Old 06-23-2009, 07:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Need help with i7 and triple channel OC'ing

That is just fine. That is what I run mine at.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 06-23-2009, 08:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 178
Default Re: Need help with i7 and triple channel OC'ing

Ok thanks Hefemeister,
Also one last question, what is the correlation between higher ram frequency and the timing of the ram?
Is it generally better to have ram at a higher frequency and have the timings as low as possible and what is this limited by?
Domestic is offline  
Old 06-23-2009, 10:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Need help with i7 and triple channel OC'ing

Well ideally you want the highest frequency possible with the lowest timings possible.

I would run yours cas7 and see how fast you can run the ram with it still passing memtest.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 01:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 178
Default Re: Need help with i7 and triple channel OC'ing

Alright thanks for clearing that up Hefe, I'll see how it goes.
Domestic is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 03:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 74
Default Re: Need help with i7 and triple channel OC'ing

My build will also have the P6T and the OCZ platinum. This thread should help me tremendously once I finish building.

If it is that easy to bump the BCLCK to 160 at stock vcore then that is good news. That's is basically where I am aiming at. Around 3.2 OC. Then, once I get comfortable, I can bump it up.

Those OCZz require manually entering the timings, etc. That should be easy as pie, correct?
__________________

Sir Cumference is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.