Need help. I finally got it! - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2007, 08:52 PM   #61 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default Re: Need help. I finally got it!

i crashed =/
__________________

andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 05-26-2007, 08:55 PM   #62 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Need help. I finally got it!

meh you can change the cpu voltage on that mobo.
you need to start over with the overclock(after you clear cmos. do so after every crash) and take it a little slower man. its not a fast process. it took me about 3 months to realize the highest overclock on my 4200.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 05-26-2007, 08:59 PM   #63 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default Re: Need help. I finally got it!

alright so last question.. i restart cmos , and completely start over. ill keep the same settings
(ddr 533, 3x ht speed, and the cpu vd control on 1.425) but this time ill go in increments of like 5 or 10.
What would be your last piece of advice for me? like say if my max is 2.8, should i increase the cpu volts by 1 notch? my temps as of now are 45 and thats with 2.9 ghz
andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 05-26-2007, 09:10 PM   #64 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Need help. I finally got it!

lol im not giving up on you forever bro but the little lady wants to go eat dinner.
at 1.45-1.475 you should be able to hit over 3+ easily and stable.
you need to load prime95 or Orthos to do some stability tests...then, if it fails..make sure your ram is under or at least really close to stock speed (ddr2-800). even if it doesn't go past about 330fsb, thats still a mighty fine oc.
by the way...the highest i have gotten mine on 1.45 was fsb of 344 (3.26ghz) lol but it wasnt exactly stable.
after you stabilize your cpu, try and raise your ram speed to 667. that will increase superpi time a lot. if it wont run at that speed, try tightening the timings a little and dropping it back down to 533.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 05-26-2007, 09:15 PM   #65 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default Re: Need help. I finally got it!

alright, ill pm you tomorrow i suppose..
__________________

andrewsvalesen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ok finally im gonna do it... snypercore Linux and Open Source 34 05-20-2007 09:38 PM
Finally buying my PC mrfluffles New Systems | Building and Buying 7 05-14-2007 08:16 PM
Dell to finally ship PCs with Linux Osiris Linux and Open Source 7 05-13-2007 04:54 AM
New Build Finally Finish!! konvick619 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 05-12-2007 07:47 PM
Finally a Computer Related Purchase Again!! NosBoost300 New Systems | Building and Buying 15 04-05-2007 10:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.