Need help. Can't OC much & failing intel burn test on stock settings? - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-20-2008, 01:16 AM   #41 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Need help. Can't OC much & failing intel burn test on stock settings?

whatever it says on the sticker is the warrantied voltage... you can push it higher, but then you cant RMA them if something goes wrong... also, you'll wanna up that NB and FSB voltage if you wanna get some big OCs
__________________

__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 01:21 PM   #42 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Need help. Can't OC much & failing intel burn test on stock settings?

I have two different types of RAM, Corsair which needs 2.2v and Super Talent, but I am not sure what the Super Talent calls for. Doubt it's higher then the Corsair.
__________________

Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 01:48 PM   #43 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Need help. Can't OC much & failing intel burn test on stock settings?

No it'll be lower.... But did you set the Vram to 2.2 while you OC'd?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 05:29 PM   #44 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Need help. Can't OC much & failing intel burn test on stock settings?

put the same brand RAM on the same channel... that way you can adjust the voltage for channel A and B to ensure they receive the correct amount
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 07:23 PM   #45 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Need help. Can't OC much & failing intel burn test on stock settings?

How do I know what channel is which? The slots for the ram are orange and green. I put one brand in the orange and one in the green. So it looks like corsair, super talent, corsair, super talent.

patonb, I did try it once, this was right before i stopped trying to OC my computer. I will be trying again this weekend with a friend that knows much more about this stuff then I.
Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 07:54 PM   #46 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Need help. Can't OC much & failing intel burn test on stock settings?

yha, the channels are right. I'd also go as far as only running 2 gigs as all 4 slots fullv is a drain on the system.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 11-20-2008, 09:52 PM   #47 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Need help. Can't OC much & failing intel burn test on stock settings?

Well I am on Vista and I thought I need at least this much ram to run high end games?
Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 12:22 PM   #48 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Need help. Can't OC much & failing intel burn test on stock settings?

OC'ing thouggh draws alot of power, and you are right, more is better.

Try to get your oc 1st then add ram... or get 2 x 2gig sticks later.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 12:57 PM   #49 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 98
Default Re: Need help. Can't OC much & failing intel burn test on stock settings?

quick question...does flashing cmos clear anything off of your hard drive? or does it just set bios back to default settings?
__________________
Processor: intel e8400 @ 3.71 ghz, OC'ing soon
RAM: 2x 2gb corsair ram
psu: 740 watt
graphics card: nvidia 8800 GTS 512mb
motherboard: gigabyte EP35-DS3P
santa is offline  
Old 11-21-2008, 02:58 PM   #50 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Need help. Can't OC much & failing intel burn test on stock settings?

Sets the bios back to default. It's not really flashing, like flashing a bios.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Tech Forums Official Crysis [Warhead] GPU Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 543 03-12-2010 12:32 AM
Stock Settings before new components?? dave39 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 10-27-2008 04:07 AM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.