Need help. Can't OC much & failing intel burn test on stock settings? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2008, 01:28 PM   #31 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Need help. Can't OC much & failing intel burn test on stock settings?

If ou really want to make life great, get a modular one.. But thats a good one non-the-less. and for 100 bucks off too.

Amps are more important, and that babys got 60 of them, with only 1 rail, and 4 8pin pci-es....

I've got the 520hx with 3 18S and its/was great..... I thhink a spike might have hurt it.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 11-13-2008, 02:54 PM   #32 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Need help. Can't OC much & failing intel burn test on stock settings?

thats one of the best psu's out there.

u can get it here for cheaper though:
Corsair TX CMPSU-750TX ATX12V & EPS12V Power Supply - CMPSU-750TX - Buy.com
__________________

__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 11-13-2008, 03:27 PM   #33 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Need help. Can't OC much & failing intel burn test on stock settings?

Nice find man! Saving me some money!

You know I originally was going to purchase a new gpu and more ram for my computer. Two weeks later I have a new mobo, more ram, a cooler, a full tower case now a new psu coming and the gpu will be here around xmas. Looks like I need to have a garage sale on the for sale section soon!
Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-18-2008, 11:15 PM   #34 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Need help. Can't OC much & failing intel burn test on stock settings?

Stalin does the voltage information you were talking about have anything to do with the amount that is being sent to the mobo? So maybe it isn't the psu that is bad, maybe the mobo is only sending that much?

The reason I ask is because I am running OCCT test again (with the new 750w Corsair) and the 12v rail is still at 10.38...

Is there another test I can run to check this? Maybe OCCT is wrong? idk...
Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 11:20 AM   #35 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Need help. Can't OC much & failing intel burn test on stock settings?

Oddly..... Speed fan reads mine as 10.6, occt says 11.4 and Evrest claims 11.99.

Best check is with a multi meter. You can buy one cheep. and it'll not lie.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 01:40 PM   #36 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Need help. Can't OC much & failing intel burn test on stock settings?

I opened up the app that came with my mobo, called TPower2 and it said it was at 11.88. So guess that OCCT app is wrong. See below

Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 06:19 PM   #37 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Need help. Can't OC much & failing intel burn test on stock settings?

your psu to me doesnt seem to be the problem it should be more the nadiquate look your ddr2 volts are 1.88, set them to 2.2 like you are supose to.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 09:30 PM   #38 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Need help. Can't OC much & failing intel burn test on stock settings?

I'm not OC right now. I'm just going to wait for a buddy of mine to come over and do it. He knows much more about this then I do. Might do it this weekend.

If I bump up ram volts then don't I need to bump up cpu volts too?
Chad711 is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 10:26 PM   #39 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Need help. Can't OC much & failing intel burn test on stock settings?

No, They are independant of each i believe. My crucial ballistix were stock at 2.1Vs.. says so on the label.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 11:03 PM   #40 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Need help. Can't OC much & failing intel burn test on stock settings?

thier both independent. so you're fine. what's your ram? there should be recommended voltages on the site.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Tech Forums Official Crysis [Warhead] GPU Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 543 03-12-2010 12:32 AM
Stock Settings before new components?? dave39 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 10-27-2008 04:07 AM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.