need help with bios question

Status
Not open for further replies.

mattk1045

In Runtime
I am a rookie when it comes to anything like this. What I am looking to do is get the best performance out of the computer I have, without having to go and buy upgrades. I wanted to go into my bios and make sure my ram was working at peak performance. However when I went in to check it will not allow me to look at the ram at all. The information is grayed out. I have Windows 7 OS, 3GB DDR2-SDRAM PC2-6400/800Mhz, Motherboard nVidia MCP61 Bios version string 5.52, Amd Athlon ll X2 215 processor.

What I want to do is get peak performance. If anyone can help I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks all

Is your computer a prebuilt, such as HP, Dell, Acer, etc? If so then your BIOS is crippled and you won't have those options available.

Welcome to Tech-Forums, mattk!!!

Does this computer you have happen to be a retail/pre-built? If so, I'm afraid you'll not be able to tweak any extra performance because retailers such as Dell, HP, etc. lock the BIOS to prevent any tweaking within.

*edit*
Ah, Trotter by a hair!!

Not really, mate. You are pretty much stuck with stock as far as CPU and RAM go. You can overclock a graphics card in one, but that's about it.

This is the same board as mine and your aunt's trotter.
There is a way around this and to work on your timings inside windows
Try Evga precision or Nvidia Ntune thats what I did to oc my ram

Thanks for all the replys.

Thanks Abstract Hero. Can you give me some steps to follow or what I shouldn't do? Again i'm new and would hate to ruin my comp

Thanks for all the replys.

Thanks Abstract Hero. Can you give me some steps to follow or what I shouldn't do? Again i'm new and would hate to ruin my comp