Need Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2004, 08:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 22
Default Need Help

Hi guys..... i'm having a problem entering my bios. When i first turned on the comp i couldnt get into the bios. I tried about 20 times; after which i finally got into it once.... After i restarted the computer but plugged in my old keyboar and mouse and it worked off the bat. Right now im using the Logitech Cordless Desktop Optical USB. I can no longer enter the bios.... im pressing the right buttons and everything but in windows the keyboard and mouse work fine (although sumtimes in games they disconnect but connect after a few seconds.) Grateful for any help thanx.

alexandermcmill is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 12:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii

correct me if i'm wrong, but aren't usb devices loaded in windows? There's got to be a way to get it to work.. but i dunno how you'd go about doing that

*edit* maybe there's a setting in the bios to load keyboard drivers on post screen or something *shrugs*

Demalii is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 01:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722

Yes, only PS/2 works for anything out of Windows, Windows is the only thing that can access USB devices.

The companies don't tell you that USB is crap, you have to realise for yourself. Most Logitech devices come with a USB to PS/2 adapter.
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 02:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 16

Some BIOSes support USB keyboards. I know that in mine, it has a setting to allow USB keyboards to be used outside of windows.
Stompy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.