Need a cool case mod idea. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2006, 05:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Question Need a cool case mod idea.

I have my old sempron setup that i want to get up and running again but i need a cool idea for a case,I don't want to go buy one so i figured i'd mod something around here to house it in,I have a old mobo tray and a couple cage's for floppy and cd rom's to help out,So i just need a couple idea's,So come on people help old poor Shumway out and start spewing your idea's
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 08:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

xbox case? lol, i dont know, let me pop a few off: old stereo, old cd player, speaker case, dresser drawer, cardboard box, metal box, humidifier, plastic storage box, vcr, cable box, satalite box, 3in binder, old flatbed scanner, wooden box, ps2 case, ps1 case, box fan, etc....just got those from looking around my room, thinking about what a pc can fit in. best gotta be an xbox, i did that a while ago, before the ps blew and took everything with it. might rebuild it, just for pics tho...

EDIT: backpack, suitcase, breifcase. ill pop em of as i see em. o empty new gascan, chair, lol
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 09:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

gas can a d drawer would be cool ..some body comes in .. dude .. why is your dressers cd tray open ..? or dude let me put your socks away... ahhh there a robot i nyour socks drawer
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 09:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

I think it would look cool in a x box case. go over to a friends house and they will be like o you have an x box and then BAM it boots to windows lol
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 09:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Thank's for the suggestion's guy's but i think i found something,It's a bit different and don't think i've seen it done before

Shumway is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 10:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

yes the bird cage. Now if you could keep a bird in there at the same time along with the computer LOL that would be funny.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 10:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lancec2c30
yes the bird cage. Now if you could keep a bird in there at the same time along with the computer LOL that would be funny.
Hmmm... On closer inspection, it appears to be a rodent cage. It would be interesting to use some rodent tubing with fans at the end of them to make a duct system of sorts

Can the motherboard fit at the bottom of the cage?
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 10:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Elbatrop1
Hmmm... On closer inspection, it appears to be a rodent cage. It would be interesting to use some rodent tubing with fans at the end of them to make a duct system of sorts

Can the motherboard fit at the bottom of the cage?

Yep it's a good old hampster cage,The mobo fit's nicely on the bottom with a little room to spare and even the door's on it are just about the same width as a cd rom
Shumway is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 10:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

Quote:
3in binder,
that would be cool

but seriosuly,
i like the cage idea.....anyone thinking of some extreme subzero air cooled temps with that thing, especially in canada?
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 10:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

cool! do that, that be pretty cool, tubing for fans, maybe figure out some neons so the tubes will light up? the only major problem would be dust, but i guess some high quality celophane could go on the outside, to keep dust out.

xbox pics somewhere, gotta find em
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.