Need accurate program to monitor brisbane cpu - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2007, 12:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Need accurate program to monitor brisbane cpu

I haven't pushed my oc very far because I can't find reliable cpu temperatures.

Here is a screen shot of Everest Home, Speedfan, and Core temp.
Everest and Speedfan show my CPU temp at 53*c. Core temp shows core 1 at 15*c and core 2 at 16*c. Do you add the two core temps together for a total, or is it just completely off?


Reason I ask is because here is my CMOS temperature readings. CPU shows 35*c. You can see I have it at a moderate oc right now with my vcore at 1.4v and DIMM at 2.19v.



And here is CPUz showing the oc I am running right now.



Is there a program that can accurately monitor my temps? Sorry for the long thread, I just wanted to be thorough.
__________________

__________________

Xion XON-180 Case
OCZ ModXStream 600w 50A on +12V
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 AM3+ mobo
AMD FX-4170 Zambezi 4.2GHz [stock heatsink]
2 x 4Gb DDR3 1866 G.Skill Sniper RAM
Corsair GT 60Gb SATA3 SSD
Evga GTX 465 GPU
Windows 7 Premium
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 12:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Need accurate program to monitor brisbane cpu

I'm guessing the Everest/speedfan temps are right.

Try downloading ntune though since you have a nforce chipset.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 12:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: Need accurate program to monitor brisbane cpu

Quote:
I'm guessing the Everest/speedfan temps are right.
I find it hard to believe that my cpu is running at 53*c without load.

Quote:
Try downloading ntune though since you have a nforce chipset.
I just downloaded nTune, but it is only monitoring my GPU, not my CPU. Everest is showing very similar GPU temps to what is reporting with nTune though.
__________________

Xion XON-180 Case
OCZ ModXStream 600w 50A on +12V
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 AM3+ mobo
AMD FX-4170 Zambezi 4.2GHz [stock heatsink]
2 x 4Gb DDR3 1866 G.Skill Sniper RAM
Corsair GT 60Gb SATA3 SSD
Evga GTX 465 GPU
Windows 7 Premium
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 12:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Need accurate program to monitor brisbane cpu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hookster264 View Post
I find it hard to believe that my cpu is running at 53*c without load.



I just downloaded nTune, but it is only monitoring my GPU, not my CPU. Everest is showing very similar GPU temps to what is reporting with nTune though.
ah 53 idle would be a bit worrying

And nvmonitor doesn't report your CPU temperatures?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 01:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: Need accurate program to monitor brisbane cpu

Quote:
And nvmonitor doesn't report your CPU temperatures?
Unless there is a setting somewhere that I need to change, this is all I get.

__________________

Xion XON-180 Case
OCZ ModXStream 600w 50A on +12V
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 AM3+ mobo
AMD FX-4170 Zambezi 4.2GHz [stock heatsink]
2 x 4Gb DDR3 1866 G.Skill Sniper RAM
Corsair GT 60Gb SATA3 SSD
Evga GTX 465 GPU
Windows 7 Premium
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 02:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Need accurate program to monitor brisbane cpu

hmm.
no, everest is not correct.
try downloading a newer version of ntune, i have the same chipset and nvmonitor shows all temps. and it is the only accurate temp program you will find for a brisbane.
at least, it will be closest to the temp in bios, which should be pretty close in any event.
there is a debate right now about whether the brisbanes temp sensor is accurate...really if it even works.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 01:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: Need accurate program to monitor brisbane cpu

Thanks nagasama. I've never been able to trust the temps reported in those other programs. I don't know why my first download of nTune was an older version. I got it from MajorGeeks and it was the version added on July 13th. Anyway, it looks like I finally got a temp monitoring program. Now time to oc a bit more. Thanks again.

__________________

Xion XON-180 Case
OCZ ModXStream 600w 50A on +12V
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 AM3+ mobo
AMD FX-4170 Zambezi 4.2GHz [stock heatsink]
2 x 4Gb DDR3 1866 G.Skill Sniper RAM
Corsair GT 60Gb SATA3 SSD
Evga GTX 465 GPU
Windows 7 Premium
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 09-11-2007, 01:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Need accurate program to monitor brisbane cpu

np amigo, by the way that cpu temp you have showing in nvmonitor is much more friendly!
hey man thats a spankin oc on your video card too. if you get a chance, run 3dmark06 wouldja?
i'd like to compare it to one of my 7900gs' and see how they compare. leave all your other settings the same and i will match mine up to them.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
uninstalling program, just read!!! robina_80 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 06-28-2007 02:55 PM
Program files (x86) Max Power Microsoft Windows and Software 0 06-02-2007 12:59 PM
Stop program from maximizing across 2 monitors pfrownsk Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-03-2007 10:30 AM
Best program for this lafguy81 Off Topic Discussion 2 04-04-2007 05:20 PM
Xbox 360 Disc Replacement Program Osiris Microsoft XBox 5 04-04-2007 03:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.