Is my Zalman 9500 running too hot? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2006, 12:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 223
Default Is my Zalman 9500 running too hot?

Hello, I just got done building my computer (first build). I was wondering for those of you who have Zalman 9500, what temperatures do you idle at.

Right away mine idles at 38-40 celcius.

I thought these are suspose to run cooler, I mean my stock cooler on my old pentium 4 ran at 45 celcuis. Is something wrong??? Thanks.
__________________

Da11en47 is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 12:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

what CPU are you running now? if its an AMD it should be lower, if an Intel......well.....they just run hot. But it could be your temp sensors reporting wrong, some boards are renound for that
__________________

__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 01:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 108
Default

I have an intel P4 2.8 that generally runs at 35-40C with a Rosewell z5 CPU cooler.
__________________
Current Build (Hope to finish by late spring):
Intel Q6600 g0
Asus Maximus Formula
geIL Evo 2GB (2x1gb) DDR2
ATI HD3870 X2 or Nvidia 9800 X2?
2x 150gb RaptorX (Have it)
Thermaltake Toughpower 750w PSU (Have it)
ZeroTHERM BTF90
Antec P182 Case
HP w2207 22" Monitor (Have it)
bmitchell73 is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 01:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 223
Default

E6400 Conroe.

I have P5b-E, Asus mobo.

I just OC it to from 2.14 --- 3.00, Then I up the fan speed to MAX on my Zalman. Now temps read 49 C. Everything Normal?
__________________
i5 3570k (OC to 4.2 mhz)
Geforce 650 Ti Boost 2gb
16 MB RAM
Windows 7
Da11en47 is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 04:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 59
Default

how long ago did you put the zalman in?
if its only been in for a few days, then it takes a while for the thermal grease to "break in" min jumped 4 degrees when i installed it, but now its 5 degrees cooler than my original stock HSF.
Reaver is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 05:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

if it stays there and you're done overclocking i wouldnt worry about it, but if it goes higher than 60 i'd start worrying
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 06:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Hot P4's imo is a sterotype. My 3ghz p4 idles at 26 celcius and on load hits 40 celcius max.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 12:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 223
Default

I just built this computer 2 days ago, used AR5 with Zalman 9500.
__________________

__________________
i5 3570k (OC to 4.2 mhz)
Geforce 650 Ti Boost 2gb
16 MB RAM
Windows 7
Da11en47 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.