My soon-to-be PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2005, 11:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default My soon-to-be PC

Ok...Thanks to dark_sniper*, I got a PC worked out for gaming. This is what I'll be using.

Video Card - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814122209

Processor - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103535

Mother Board - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136157

RAM - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146392

PSU - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817194001

Case- http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811133154

Cooling - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835106038


Any input/comments? Hope it's good enough for gaming .

~Dan

edit: 40 Gig hardrive off of my old computer. (I've got most of the stuff like cd drive and all that, just these are the main parts)
__________________

blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 11:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

Where are you gonna store all the games? The RAM? Dont think so...
__________________

__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 11:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

he got a hdd on the side, whats wrong with the ram.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 11:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Are you going to be overclocking? With RAM like that and a non-stock HSF, I would really hope you are overclocking.... a lot. I would like to remind everyone that Value/Generic RAM performs no worse/better than expensive RAM unless you are overclocking.

If you dont want to overclock, get a cheaper mobo, get cheaper RAM and use the stock HSF. That way, you can get a faster CPU.

Also, that PSU is kinda excessive, but if you want to get a huge one like that, thats fine, I guess.....
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 11:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 184
Send a message via AIM to blackhawk13
Default

Is there a better, smaller PSU that I could get? It was just the first one I saw and it looked good enough. Any other PSU suggestions?
blackhawk13 is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 11:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by blackhawk13
It was just the first one I saw and it looked good enough.
Not exactly the best way to build computers, but itll Git-R-Done.

other than that lookin good!
__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 11:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

the other thing i forgot he will not be able to get this computer from newegg. Lol i forgot that they dont ship to Canada.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 01:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

Looks good. OCZ ram would be cheaper and better. Don't forget windows os and arctic silver 5. That psu is kinda overkill for that system, $150.
Roger
__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 09:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

im pretty sure that u can get all those parts off www.tigerdirect.ca just make sure that the cpu that u get from tigerdirect (btw located in toronto so shipping should be pretty fast) is venice cuz it doesnt say anything about the core, so u can just call em or something and find out.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 11:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

Get a Zalman 7000-Cu or a 7700-Cu. Much better cooling if you want to be overclocking.
__________________

persianxballer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.