My RAM timing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2007, 06:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default My RAM timing

So, my RAM timings are off I know. The RAM says 2-3-3-6 on the side and I want to make it that way. But, it's at 2.5-3-3-?
I don't know which one should be 6. I read the 4th timing should be TRAS but I don't see that as you can see in the image I inserted. Obviously the CAS should be changed to 2 instead of 2.5, and I believe the 3's are correct, but which one do I change to 6? I'm thinking its the 10 or 12.

Thanks in advanced!

__________________

mnelson07 is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 06:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default Re: My RAM timing

Actually, I'm stupid. As I made this post I saw right below my CAS timing was the TRAS at 7.

Although, when I changed the CAS to 2 and the TRAS to 6, windows booted but by the time it started loading up the desktop it crashed. Obviously, it wasn't stable.

So, what does that mean? Or does that mean anything? I don't know that having a .5 and 1 cycle faster will matter that much in performance, I guess I just figured I'd change it if I could to run a tad faster. Er, rather, to what it was meant to run at.
__________________

mnelson07 is offline  
Old 04-19-2007, 01:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: My RAM timing

MOST LIKELY, ie not definite:
you need to up the voltage a tad.
to make my RAM run at its rated speed, i have to up the voltage .20V
try that. dont go too high. go a little at first, or read your RAM specs.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 12:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default Re: My RAM timing

I took the DDR voltage from 2.60v to 2.75v and so far everything seems ok. I'm getting a few Microsoft Errors when I boot up now, not sure if that's a result of the overclocking or not. Other than that everything seems stable.

I don't need to worry about upping the voltage to anything else do I? I've never overclocked before so I didn't know if there is anything I'm missing. Like I figured if you up the voltage to one thing you might need to do it to the processor or something to even it out? I don't know... might sound stupid but in the same breath I am new to this.

Thanks a lot!
mnelson07 is offline  
Old 04-25-2007, 03:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: My RAM timing

TRCD TRPD should be the same numers and TRAS should be the sum of CAS + TRCD + TRPD.
for example.

3-4-4 TRAS should be 11 or 12.


im not sure if this info is correct. i can't remember RAM timings correctly because i haven't changed my RAM timings in a long time.
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 04-25-2007, 03:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: My RAM timing

http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/...E13335,00.html

this will help a little with explanation.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.