My Q9450 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2008, 01:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default My Q9450

Hey guys, loving my new rig it's running smooth and I haven't run into any video corruption yet with the 7 series board. I just wanted to see if you guys think my overclock looks good, I have speedstep disabled and C1E disabled so it should not be "throttling" anymore. Also how does my Vcore look, too low? too high?

These temps are while prime95 is running
Here is the link for it:
http://img165.imageshack.us/img165/2598/95086897iy9.jpg
__________________

__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Old 06-13-2008, 01:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: My Q9450

The Q9450 is a dream, no doubt i know, i have it

The video corruption only happens when i use Media Player Classic w/ K-Lite Codec and playing .avi files, it never happens when i play H.264 .mkv files :O so i use VLC for .avi files, and though i prefer Media player classic, i dont like the vid corruption so i am sticking with VLC for the moment.

BTW what difference does it make if you use or dont use C1E and speedstep? since it only kicks in when u r not doing anything intensive, doesnt it just seem counterproductive to leave it off?

PS do u plan on OCing the Q9450?
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 06-13-2008, 01:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: My Q9450

Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Viksta View Post
The Q9450 is a dream, no doubt i know, i have it

The video corruption only happens when i use Media Player Classic w/ K-Lite Codec and playing .avi files, it never happens when i play H.264 .mkv files :O so i use VLC for .avi files, and though i prefer Media player classic, i dont like the vid corruption so i am sticking with VLC for the moment.

BTW what difference does it make if you use or dont use C1E and speedstep? since it only kicks in when u r not doing anything intensive, doesnt it just seem counterproductive to leave it off?

PS do u plan on OCing the Q9450?
From what I understand disabling speedstep and C1E stop the CPU from "throttling."

And yes I have overclocked my Q9450, look at my cpuZ in my picture.
__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Old 06-13-2008, 01:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: My Q9450

sorry, the pic wouldnt load the first time

what exactly would throttling do to the CPU?

PS your VID is fine, maybe a little low. Mine by default is 1.28V and im only at 3.08Ghz, maybe you want to test your rig for stability with orthos or OCC to be on hte safe side..
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 06-13-2008, 02:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: My Q9450

I don't exactly know what throttling does, someone here told me to disable C1E and speedstep because it caused throttling. And as for my stability, it is fine with that low Vcore I have ran prime 95 for 5 hours and nothing happened, it is a 45nm so it doesn't require alot of voltage.
__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Old 06-13-2008, 02:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: My Q9450

fair enough. my mobo automatically set the default voltage at 1.28, so im assuming that until i reach at least 3.6Ghz with this CPU i wont need to overvolt the CPU...now to get my mobo to co-operate with the overclocking...
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 06-13-2008, 05:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: My Q9450

max that thing out. I want to see if the cpu gives up first or the mobo. Find where the FSB wall is. I'm guessing 475?
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 06-13-2008, 06:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: My Q9450

Well he's probably not going to occur with that 790i Ultra Board, those things can go 500+ from what Nosboost said and as Nosboost is the PC Hardware Gigolo, I can trust him
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-13-2008, 06:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default Re: My Q9450

I went through three 790i boards (two eVGA and one Striker) with two Q9450s and one QX9770 in the last week. Consequently, I am not impressed by their performance and the relative difficulty in keeping overclock stability.
__________________

decibaL is offline  
Old 06-13-2008, 10:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: My Q9450

I should've been more specific, I meant 475 fsb wall for the cpu. The amount of money he spent on that board, it better hit well beyond 500
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
q9450 on sale in canada Poizen22 New Systems | Building and Buying 31 03-09-2008 05:23 PM
Q9300 or Q9450 solidsteve New Systems | Building and Buying 28 01-31-2008 05:01 PM
Sold my computer, waiting for Q9450 dhgunit New Systems | Building and Buying 20 01-23-2008 02:47 AM
QX9650 vs Q9450 MerkwŁrdigeliebe New Systems | Building and Buying 11 12-05-2007 01:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.