My project - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2005, 07:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Talking My project

I know it isnt much but heres what i call the mini tower of blue death. I call it that because its a mini tower (sort of) and blue death casue my Bigger computer has blue LED fans like i just put in this one. when i mentioned my project in my last thread this is what i was talking about.
System Specs
PentiumMMX 233mhz Socket7
256mb PC100
Voodoo2 SLI (yes SLI lol)
Nvidia Riva128
SB LIVE! 5.1 w/ livedrive (i just put it in after i took the pics)
48x Creative CD-ROM
2.5gig WD cavier (spell?)

*heres some pix to laugh at


heres the front


heres a better pic of the inside


yes thats a modded thermaltake heatsink lol. and i have a Blue Antec fan in the side (look hard you can see it)
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 07:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Since we're kind of on this topic, how does a fan like that thermaltake heatsink fan work on motherboards?
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 10:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default

well actually the fan isnt ont the mother board, its on an adapter that goes straight to the 12v connector from the power supply that i got from my smart fan2. i tried looking but you cant see it in those pics.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 11:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

how do u use sli on that computer???...i thought it was brand new technology
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 11:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 198
Default

nopee SLI was used with the voodoo 2 , the voodoo 2 was the fastest card on the planet but 3DFX devised a scheme to make it even faster, that scheme was SLI

http://img299.echo.cx/img299/3839/voodoo2sli3ty.jpg

u can see it in the pics that P.P posted too, that pc was a monster back in the days
contry is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 11:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default

actualy it still is a monster on the right games! Dont think the SLI part is workin right but i have no way of telling really. thing is actually quite fast really for the cpu and type of ram im using. I liek it and it sits next to my big machine waiting for me to play Descent and warcraft2
and as you can clearly see i have the cable too!
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 11:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 198
Default

u should try to run quake with one card and see how it looks and performs and then add ur second card see if it performs any different or looks different
contry is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 01:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default

i dont have an original copy of quake1 so i guess i cant do that :/ i do have quakeIII though.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 07:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

you could probably run 3dmark01.....that'll give a decent result of overall system performance.......for testing solely the graphics cards you could TRY 3dmark03, but honestly I don't see it being able to run it very well at all.......but atleast that way you might be able to tell if the SLI is actually working
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 08:01 AM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default

You really think it would run 3dmark01? I didnt think it would so i didnt bother putting it on there and i seriously doubt it would run 03 lol.
Quote:
if your building a custom spec, i would put the best stuff in there, obviously unless your on a budget, and then you have to be carefulo what you buy!
This is just a screw around thing, of course im not buying the parts cause they are just laying around for me to use. If i was building a bigger system that i actually buy parts of course i would have (or try) the best parts.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.