My PC Specs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-22-2004, 06:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 105
Default My PC Specs

My computer Set Up

AMD AthlonXP 1800+
1.49 GHz
768 MB of DDR 2100 Ram

Radeon 9000 Vid Card

55.8 GB Harddrive

Im soon getting anothe 80Gig Harddrive to have more room.

My question is the following what can I do to this set up to make it faster and better.
__________________

Edgar is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 06:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default

Ok firstly I hate the processor, an AMD and only a 1800? omg...
__________________

cheerios is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 06:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default

Secondly you should opt for a better graphics card, maybe a 9600pro, its one of the most stable cards ive ever seen and its cheap too!
cheerios is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 06:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default

Hmm to make this better you can increase the ram to a 1gb ram but dont bother to get a faster ram since the bus speed would follow the slowest, pc2100 in your case...

Usually the speed of the com really depends on the ram
cheerios is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 06:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
Default

I would get a new graphics card if I were you, either a 9800pro or 5900.
Then I would buy a new processor as cheerios pointed out.
You should get the fastest AMD with a 266MHz fsb I think thats 2400. Otherwise you'll have to buy new ram, which seems a shame as you have 768MB already.
__________________
<center>
Pentium 4 2.8 with M0 stepping.
Only air cooling tho
<br>
<a href=\"http://www.extreme64.com\"><b>Extreme64.com</b></a>
<br>
<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1152343400\">Aquamark03</a></center>
domwells is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 06:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default

But still frankly I dont see why you should need an upgrade, your computer specs in my viewpoint is fine, if you plan on upgrading, wait for another year or so when its more worth it.

But of coz Im not against it, thats if you have cash to burn
cheerios is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 06:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

you could overclock the processor, or you could invest in a good video card. That's probably the best way to see a difference in performance.

What are you going to use the computer for?
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 07:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 297
Send a message via AIM to BlindApex
Default

wow cheerios has moved on to triple posts
__________________
[size=2]
AMD 64 3200+ Socket 939
DFI LanParty nF4 SLI-DR
BFG GeForce 6600GT OC
WD Caviar 200GB SATA-II
Thermaltake Venus 12 HSF
CoolerMaster Wavemaster Case

|P|A|I|N|T|B|A|L|L|
my anti-drug
BlindApex is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 07:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

lol. If you want, u can get the ATI 9600 XT. If you have enough money then get the 9800pro. But i mean yea u need a better processor. maybe atleast a 2600 or even a 2800?
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 07:32 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 105
Default

I play alot of CS I actually been thinking about a new processer,and vid card.....
how much would a new good processer run for?
I want the Radeon 9800 Pro...

How do I overclock the processer I have now? And would that help any and will I see change in performance of my machine?
__________________

Edgar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.