My overclocking experience - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-07-2006, 08:01 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Maybe your sensor is bad or something. Are you monitoring temps in BIOS or with a program?

My ABIT EQ says my CPU is running at 76*C when I first boot up my comp, even though BIOS says about 30*C. Plus I have a failsafe so if my CPU gets to 75*C it will shutoff.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 08:04 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

ya i just took my hs off, remounted it, turned off all ocing, now its max of 49c. ill just wait for my watercooling. thanks every1
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 02:55 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 408
Send a message via AIM to neweyedeya18
Default

make sure you clean your hsf with some isopropyl 91% or better, or thermal paste remover, there is no reason for your temps to be anywhere near 70 degrees F especially if its a amd,ive read that the gold' orb is a little difficult to mount so maybe you dont have all the screws in correct i wouldnt go more than 3-5mhz for fsb personally, its like bringing your car to the track to race with out driving on the highway (ok that was lame but you get the idea) think baby steps while testing oc/ stability
__________________
neweyedeya18 is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 06:29 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 65
Default

guys I have a simular setup, would you expect my system to score 1000 diffirence on 3dmark because of the diffirence GPU ?

I would be interested in trying to squeeze some more juice from my machine if possible.
__________________
AMD 4200+ X2 OC 2.3Ghz
Club Nvidia 7800 GTX 256megs OC 540/1350
Asus A832n Delux MB
40 gig WD Raptor
300 gig WD Sata 2
3dmark2005 = 8652
leeslangley is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 07:31 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

make another thread for it.
wtk pro l is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 03:29 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

k, CLEAN the heatspreader and HS with Isopropyl 80% plus is fine, i have never seen 80-90% isopropyl leave ANY residue of oil behind.

GET A BETTER MONITOR! you cant have 49C with no overclocking........that doesn seem right.
john3 is offline  
Old 05-08-2006, 04:23 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

You could try lapping your heatsinc too. http://www.ramsinks.com/lapping.asp
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-09-2006, 07:34 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

yup ill try lapping soon,. I upped my cpu even more. To accomodate the higher temps, i laid down my pc, took off the window and opened my window in my room. my temps have dropped pretty far, at 2.8ghz its idling at 42c! All ive done is upped the voltage to 1.6, upped fsb to 255, and upped the ram voltage to 2.7, all says ai booster. I tested prime95 for 8 hours at 2.6, all stable so tomorrow morning i shall indeed test again fo another 8. Should i do anything else/any problems?
__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 05-09-2006, 08:13 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

oh and what should my MEMCLK Frequency be at? on A64 tweaker it says its at 133. is taht right? i thought it should be at 200, but then again my ram timings were different then advertised.
__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 05-09-2006, 10:05 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

So as i see im talking to myself i guess ill just have to say i broke the 10000 mark in 3dmark 05. hooray for 10012!!
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.