My OC Question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2011, 08:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: My OC Question

Oh for sure at v21 x 177 it will.

I thought i7s were better at odd multis??
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-13-2011, 11:45 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: My OC Question

They maybe better at odd multipliers but that doesn't mean its desirable. Think of your cpu as a gas powered engine with a power curve. With an odd multiplier your either going to be overly cpu bound or memory bound, and in some situations the computer will perform great. But in general the computer will have better overall performance by syncing the performance levels of the cpu and memory.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-13-2011, 03:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: My OC Question

Seems it won't boot without a qtt/vtt over 1.5V at 20 x 200.

Then LinX errors with the irq error or such at a 1.3V Vcore... But its at 87C so nope to that.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-13-2011, 05:37 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: My OC Question

you shouldn't need your VTT at 1.5v, what latencies are you running at? My VTT was at 1.5v but I was running my memory at 1600MHz with 6-6-6-20-54-1T timings.

At a more reasonable 1600MHz @ 8-8-8-24-72-1T or 9-9-9-28-72-1T you should be OK in the 1.25v to 1.4v (max) range.

Do you have Load Line Calibration Enabled? What is your DRAM voltage set at?

Your VTT voltage will cause the cpu core temps to rise just like the VCore. With the irq error I would raise my IOH VCore and my IOH/ICH I/O voltage as it sounds like its video related to me.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-13-2011, 06:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: My OC Question

My ram is OCZ Gold at 8-8-8-24
OCZ DDR3 PC3-12800 Gold Low-Voltage Triple Channel - OCZ

I have it set at auto so as to allow them to be loose. more like 10-10-10-31-93-1T

I have LLC Enabled, and my VDrams 1.64... specs 1.65V

Appreciate your replys btw.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-13-2011, 06:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: My OC Question

Higher latencies don't always help. I would set them at there rated spec's or no higher than 9-9-9-28-72-2T. Raising them to high can cause problems similar to trying to power a race engine with regular gas. The 1T over the 2T setting really doesn't offer much of a performance benefit like it did with DDR or DDR2 memory. I would try running them at 2T before I raised the other latency settings.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gentouch78 tablet question (warning noob question) tomc102968 Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 3 11-23-2010 01:13 PM
build question...e760 or e758?? also question about RAM eagle5968 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 02-28-2010 10:35 PM
Question on burning DVD's *Noob Question*. KCRMYZ Off Topic Discussion 3 12-31-2007 02:23 PM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
Vista BETA Question EASY QUESTION? AuThoRitY Microsoft Windows and Software 9 12-21-2005 06:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.