My OC Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2011, 09:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default My OC Question

So I'm tweeking my oc, and I'm getting driver crashes when running LinX.

Not the errors that typically denote Vcore or Qpi volt increase.

What could they come from?

Slay... care to enlighten us oh great oc guru.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-12-2011, 10:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: My OC Question

What type of crashes are you getting? What are your present settings and temps? Have you updated any drivers lately? Or the bigger question is, has Windows Update updated any drivers for you? The updated Realtek Network Adapter driver available on Windows Update is known to conflict with Nvidia drivers. This conflict may not rear it's ugly head until the system is stressed but the weakest link is usually the 1st exposed.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-12-2011, 11:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: My OC Question

I "think" they still are the drivers off of the cd.

Last one was this:
Quote:
BugCheck 3B, {c0000096, fffffa600d7ed3e6, fffffa600f683df0, 0}

*** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for kerneld.amd64
Page 91dda not present in the dump file. Type ".hh dbgerr004" for details
Probably caused by : kerneld.amd64 ( kerneld+13e6 )
Quote:
BugCheck 7F, {8, 80050031, 6f8, fffff800026d5e9f}

Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt!KiDoubleFaultAbort+b8 )
Quote:
BugCheck 3B, {c0000005, fffffa60007908be, fffffa600d82e840, 0}

Unable to load image \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\aswFsBlk.SYS, Win32 error 0n2
*** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for aswFsBlk.SYS
*** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for aswFsBlk.SYS
Probably caused by : luafv.sys ( luafv!LuafvNormalizeNameComponentEx+13f )
All are different drivers and system files.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-12-2011, 01:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: My OC Question

I would go to device manager and see if you have the option to "Rollback" your Network Adapter driver.

If your running SLI you should try increasing your IOH VCore, IOH/ICH I/O voltage. (I'm at 1.375v and 1.65v respectively)

If your getting random errors that deal with the file system, usb or sound then try raising the ICH VCore (I'm at 1.25v)

When changing the CPU VCore and the CPU VTT no longer seem to help you can try raising the QPI PLL voltage (I'm at 1.4v)
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-12-2011, 02:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: My OC Question

Oddly i didn't even have the realtek audio drivers...... Running it again.... Got an error oin first pass.

I think heats gonna be my issue passing 4.04Ghz.. Even under 1.3Vcore ~80C in LinX vs 70C at 1.275V

You think droping the multi to 21 instead of 23x would be better?

btw i'm at 177 and x10 mem ratio.... I'm dropping it to 8 right now.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-12-2011, 02:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: My OC Question

I didn't mention the Realtek Audio drivers? The problem is with the Realtek Network Adapter drivers.

I would run the cpu multiplier at 20 with Turbo disabled and the BCLK at 200 with the memory multiplier at 8. This just keeps everything working together smoothly. Then I would try running it faster by increasing the multiplier or enabling Turbo while keeping the BCLK at 200.

177x 10=1770MHz which will kill your cpu overclock and 177x8=1418MHz which is reducing your performance.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-12-2011, 03:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: My OC Question

Its a 950 remember....... stock is 23x

I know you didn't mention audio, I was just saying not even the audio was right so who knows what i missed.

Well, over 80, and under 1.3Vcore is my limit.

Haven't upped the QPI PLL yet.. its at 1.10V Try that next go around... but unless I don't need any more Vcore.... I think I'm at my heat limit.

Might try to get my cpu lapped.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-12-2011, 04:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: My OC Question

stock maybe 23 but that doesn't mean it's the best setting to use for overclocking the i7 with DDR3 1600. We want to maximize our performance and this is best done by keeping our sub-systems performance levels in sync. A BCLK of 200 is the magic number but keeping the BCLK in the 195-205 range will offer you your best performance curve.

19 x 195 = 3.7GHz, with a memory ratio of 8 our memory runs at 1560MHz
19 x 200 = 3.8GHz, with a memory ratio of 8 our memory runs at 1600MHz
19 x 205 = 3.9GHz, with a memory ratio of 8 our memory runs at 1640MHz

20 x 195 = 3.9GHz, with a memory ratio of 8 our memory runs at 1560MHz
20 x 200 = 4GHz, with a memory ratio of 8 our memory runs at 1600MHz
20 x 205 = 4.1GHz, with a memory ratio of 8 our memory runs at 1640MHz

21 x 195 = 4.1GHz, with a memory ratio of 8 our memory runs at 1560MHz
21 x 200 = 4.2GHz, with a memory ratio of 8 our memory runs at 1600MHz
21 x 205 = 4.3GHz, with a memory ratio of 8 our memory runs at 1640MHz

22 x 195 = 4.3GHz, with a memory ratio of 8 our memory runs at 1560MHz
22 x 200 = 4.4GHz, with a memory ratio of 8 our memory runs at 1600MHz
22 x 205 = 4.5GHz, with a memory ratio of 8 our memory runs at 1640MHz

etc....

If you try to use a 21 multiplier 4GHz is harder to achieve.
21 x 190 = 3.99GHz and you can run the memory at 1520MHz or 1900MHz. 1520 is slowing the performance while 1900 is going to overload the system.

If you try to use 22 for 4GHz then you windup with
22 x 182 = 4.004GHz and your memory winds up at 1456MHz or 1820MHz

etc...

This trend continues until you hit a 25 multiplier at which time you can drop the BCLK to 160 for
25 x 160 = 4GHz and with a memory multiplier of 10 we get 1600MHz.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-12-2011, 06:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: My OC Question

I miss understood your post.... I thought you were saying it was under performing at 21x 177...

I'm stable at 174 x23 = 4.0Ghz and 1740mhz ram and fold at 70-73C with a Vcore of 1.275.

I should just say thats it and any gain isn't worth it to gain the 30sec more for folding.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-12-2011, 07:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: My OC Question

Your 1740 MHz ram speed is more than likely limiting your cpu overclock.

And I think your system will be under performing at 21 x 177.

You should work on getting it to run at one of these settings.

20 x 195 = 3.9GHz, with a memory ratio of 8 our memory runs at 1560MHz
20 x 200 = 4GHz, with a memory ratio of 8 our memory runs at 1600MHz
20 x 205 = 4.1GHz, with a memory ratio of 8 our memory runs at 1640MHz
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gentouch78 tablet question (warning noob question) tomc102968 Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 3 11-23-2010 01:13 PM
build question...e760 or e758?? also question about RAM eagle5968 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 02-28-2010 10:35 PM
Question on burning DVD's *Noob Question*. KCRMYZ Off Topic Discussion 3 12-31-2007 02:23 PM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
Vista BETA Question EASY QUESTION? AuThoRitY Microsoft Windows and Software 9 12-21-2005 06:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.