my new zalman cpu and gpu HSF - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2006, 04:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default my new zalman cpu and gpu HSF

well i got it in from that questionable site i mentioned earlier, didnt take long at all, but i have the http://www.xoxide.com/zalman-7700-cu-cpu-cooler.html

and the gou cooler
http://www.xoxide.com/zalman-vf700-cu-vga-cooler.html

thats not the site i got it from but its the same ones i got

has anybody used this and is their anything i should know before installing it? its for a 754 skt and a 7800gt
__________________

__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 04:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I have the VGA cooler there. It's really, really straightforward. I would assume that the CPU cooler is easy too.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 05:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default

That site never comes up for me so i couldnt tell you.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 05:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

well i got it all installed temps went down quite a bit i can tell you more info when i run 3dmark06 and when i was taking my gpu stock sink off, it accidently broke the power cord to the board from the sink fan so my old HSF from the 7800gt is useless now lol unless i can find a fan to fit inside it and re run the power cord

oh yeah, the ram sinks are just held on by the thermal tape right? well they dont stick too good after i cleaned the ram sinks with alcohol and stuff, does heat make them stick better?
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 07:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

ok well i tryed to run pc mark 06 and it shuts down in the middle of the test but i dont think its overheating as my cpu temp doesnt go over 35 and my gpu temp doesnt go over 35 i have my outside cold air intake fixture on also. so heat i dont think is the problem, what else could it be? ive already ran 3dmark06 before and i tryed 3dmark05 just now too and it didnt work
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 07:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

did you run prime95 to see if your overclock is stable?

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 07:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

i put it back to stock clock, on both right before i changed the HSF's to be on the safe side, and i tryed running 3dmark before i overclocked again but it just seems to shutdown during it. i was thinking it could be my psu since im drawing more power form my new cpu/gpu cooler.
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 10:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 91
Default

Hehe. For a start, I got both the CNPS7700-Cu (LED FOR ME) and I got the Vf700-cu. On a 3700+ and a X850XT. I like them cos they also cool around them (the vf700 cools the ram sinks on the under side). And on the subject of those ram sinks. You cleaned em with alcohol? Same! I cleaned em with Akasa TIM Clean (still cleaning stuff), and when I stuck the sinks on, I find they don't stick so good.
OOOOHHH I wonder why?! Maybe cos they're still a greasy layer of liquid on there. You had to dry it COMPLETELY. Can't stick to liquid I don't think somehow.
Get them dry, and the ram dry, and try again, they'll stick eventually I guess, but having them half on will be detrimental rather than beneficial to your cooling. Heat'll just stay under the foam stickys, won't transfer. Sort them or don't use em at all .
As for your prollems, get back to stock speeds and volts.
Two measly fans, however cool they are, aren't going to cause you power failures. I'm pressuming you got them plugged into your mobo, (as opposed to a fan controller). Those 3pin fan ports are there to be used, so it's not that.
As for 3dmark06, i've only just downloaded it, and haven't run it yet, but if hdr, AA, AF , whatever else they got going on there is anything to go by, it's going to max your system, i'd forget about that for the moment, just get it stable.
Could even be corrupt installs of 3dmark. If everything else is fine. Just give your pc a break for a few days, play games, surf, chat, download, well whatever it is you download, see if your pc's alright, and do things you do on your computer, if all seems stable, reinstall 3dmark and try again.
It should be ok, less you've fried something / broken something somewhere. *giggles*.
Be careful when you overclock, can't just jump straight in at the deep end .

Oh whats your complete system specs?
CPU?
GPU?
MOBO?
PSU<-----????
HDDs?
RAM?
__________________
:freak:
| Intel Core 2 Q6600 / Zalman CNPS7000Bcu CPU LED cooler | XFX GeForce 8800GT Alpha Dog 512MB PCI-E | 2x1024mb Corsair XMS2 6400 | Gigabyte N650SLI DS4 | OCZ GameXstream 850W | Hitachi Deskstar 80gb IDE | WD Caviar 160gb IDE | WD Caviar 250gb SATA | Coolermaster Aerogate 2 |
IGeMex is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 06:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

ASPIRE X-Navigator and case psu.
EPoX EP-8NPA SLI ATX AMD Motherboard
AMD Sempron 64 2600+ 800MHz FSB Palermo Core @2.2ghz stable
PNY Geforce 7800GT
GeIL Value 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Dual Channel @ 533
80gig WD 7200rpm
17'' SyncMaster 730b LCD monitor
logitech z 5500 speakers
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2

those are the componenets i have but dont worry about the overclocks theyre all stock again
__________________

__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.