My new system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2008, 11:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default My new system

Ok, i wanted to start by thanking all you guys (im not saying any names i dont want to leave anyone out) for helping me decide on a new system.

I decided on the 780G chipset (790gx was to expensive)

and an athlon x2 5000+ Brisbane (anything higher is a waste, because im going to push it to 3ghz anyway, and i dont see the point in getting a 2.9ghz 5600+ when its only going to hit 3.2ghz~ anyway)


what do you guys think of these two options i chose.

BIOSTAR A780G M2+ SE AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
Newegg.com - BIOSTAR A780G M2+ SE AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Brisbane 2.6GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Processor - Retail
Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Brisbane 2.6GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops


I needed an IGP chipset because i'll be stuck with it for about 2 weeks untill i get a better graphics card. And i believe i've reached my limit for price/performance to last me 2 weeks
(i can handle 1024x768 for 2 weeks in CSS, after all, i played CSS in 640x480 with a geforce 2 pci for almost a month with 20fps when my x1600 died.)

I was wondering if its possible to overclock an IGP?

also do you think this 5000+ brisbane will hit 3ghz? (i've heard of 3600+ hitting 3ghz, so i dont see why this one wouldnt.. besides.. my 3800+ toledo core @ 2.0ghz hit 2.8ghz with minimal problems due to the fact taht i couldnt increase voltage)


thanks ahead of time for any information and input
__________________

RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 11:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 881
Send a message via AIM to Ethan_Kaizer Send a message via MSN to Ethan_Kaizer
Default Re: My new system

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichM499 View Post
Ok, i wanted to start by thanking all you guys (im not saying any names i dont want to leave anyone out) for helping me decide on a new system.

I decided on the 780G chipset (790gx was to expensive)

and an athlon x2 5000+ Brisbane (anything higher is a waste, because im going to push it to 3ghz anyway, and i dont see the point in getting a 2.9ghz 5600+ when its only going to hit 3.2ghz~ anyway)


what do you guys think of these two options i chose.

BIOSTAR A780G M2+ SE AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
Newegg.com - BIOSTAR A780G M2+ SE AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Brisbane 2.6GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Processor - Retail
Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Brisbane 2.6GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops


I needed an IGP chipset because i'll be stuck with it for about 2 weeks untill i get a better graphics card. And i believe i've reached my limit for price/performance to last me 2 weeks
(i can handle 1024x768 for 2 weeks in CSS, after all, i played CSS in 640x480 with a geforce 2 pci for almost a month with 20fps when my x1600 died.)

I was wondering if its possible to overclock an IGP?

also do you think this 5000+ brisbane will hit 3ghz? (i've heard of 3600+ hitting 3ghz, so i dont see why this one wouldnt.. besides.. my 3800+ toledo core @ 2.0ghz hit 2.8ghz with minimal problems due to the fact taht i couldnt increase voltage)


thanks ahead of time for any information and input
It's possible SOMETIMES to be able to OC an IGP, but it's really not going to make a big difference. Don't expect some amazing overclock from an AMD CPU though. If you must get AMD, then those look like a fine choice of parts.
__________________

__________________
||Core 2 Duo E4600 @ 2.4 GHz (OC coming soon) || Biostar TP45HP || 4GB Kingston DDR2 667 RAM ||
Sapphire HD 4670 512mb @778/1140 || Antec Trio 650w || Maxtor 250gb 7200 RPM HDD || Lite-On DVD-RW || Black Aluminum Case||
Ethan_Kaizer is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 12:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: My new system

he already bought em... and 3ghz 5000+ is common, you'll enjoy ur system...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 02:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: My new system

I m able to boot at 3.2ghz. Windows is able to load and everything. Its just when it comes to gaming when my pc crashes (not enough voltage?). So you should be able to hit 3.2ghz with a decent heat sink.

Other wise the stock heat sink should still be enough to hit 3.00ghz 24/7 with manageable temps.

So enjoy

Just out of curiosity, if your 3850 didn't meet an early demise. Would you have went with the E5200 instead? Because it seems the IGP was your selling point.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Striker II Extreme 790i, new rig problem. System slow? manowar Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-09-2008 05:15 AM
New System, Random shut down, no OS -- HELP! Garg11 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-04-2008 12:00 AM
Osiris' 4 Step Spyware Removal Guide (old) Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 89 12-26-2007 06:37 PM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM
TF Infraction Card System BUGGY!!!! I mean Computer BUGGY! Harper Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback 2 04-08-2007 06:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.