My new stuff installed. :) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2006, 03:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default My new stuff installed. :)

Changes to my computer:
Zalman VF900 HSF
2x 80mm blade fan grills
blue CCFL
Saitek Eclipse keyboard
Raptor HDD

We'll start with the Zalman.

Removed my old HSF:


New one installed:


All done (sorry about the wires, it's hideous...I know...):


New CCFL + Fan grills: (lights off)

(lights on)

(CCFL off, lights on)


New keyboard:







I forgot to take pictures of the Raptor, but I'll have my whole computer torn apart soon...I'm re-doing all the wiring, completely.

Well, hope you like. I sure do.

BTW: Lowered my video card temps from 47*C idle, to 37*C idle. I have yet to test it in BF2.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 03:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default

Nice work and marry X-Mas!
__________________

__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 07:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Thanks..Merry Christmas to you too.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 08:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Ya I will start the oc on my 7900gs, might consider a zalman for it.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 08:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 144
Default

haha sweet cooler, i might get one for my 7300gt, it sounds like a vacuum -.-
__________________
(>-.-)==>
RepuLse is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 08:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Dude, this cooler is DEAD quiet!

I installed the fan controller that came with it onto the back of my case, so I could adjust the RPM. Looking at my monitoring software, all the way down is like 1200 - 1400 RPM, and max is about 2500RPM. I can't even hear a difference, turning the knob between the two. It's DEAD quiet I tell you.

It's a pinch to install, too. I've always recommended it, but after actually owning one, GET IT!!!

Get the one with LED's though...

EDIT: By the way, I'm going to completely re-do my wiring tomorrow. I will update this thread with new and better pics.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 09:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

I have the vf-700 and it's dead quiet too, I love it!!
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 06:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 275
Default

They are some nice mods! I can see why you are ripping apart your computer to redo Wire Management . Overclock that GTO, they overclock to **** when cooled well!

Good Luck

Ruan
RGELLIS is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 11:19 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Nah, the R430 core doesn't over clock very well - plus I don't really need it.

I play BF2on 1280x1024, everything on high, AA off, and still get 50 - 60FPS...so that's fine for me.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.