My new PC specification - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2004, 08:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
Post My new PC specification

Hi everyone this is my first post at this forum. Anyway I am purchasing a new computer and I wanted to know from experts from this forum if I chose the right configuration.

Please provide me with some advice on this matter. Ciao...

_______________________

Computer Package Specification


Case

Thermaltake Shark Full Tower Aluminum Case Series-Silver w/EMI Shield Honeycomb Side Panel
(Model Number: VA7000SWA)

Processor

Intel Pentium 4 3.4 GHz / 800

Motherboard

GA 8S655FX

Memory

1GB Textron DDR RAM

Hard Disk Drive

Seagate Barracuda 80GB 7200RPM Ultra ATA100

(Model Number:ST380011A)
Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 Plus 200GB Ultra ATA/100 7200 RPM
(Model Number:ST3200822A)

Floppy Disk Drive

Samsung Floppy Disk Drive

DVD Rom

Lite-On 16x48 DVDROM/CDROM LTD-166BLK

DVD Writer

Pioneer DVR-108 16x Dual Format (+/-), 4X Dual Layer (4x DVDRW, 32x CDR, 24x CDRW) OEM
(Model Number: DVR-108BK)

LCD Monitor

LG L1730P

Graphics Card

Gigabyte GeCube ATI Radeon 9800 (R360 VPU) Xtreme 256MB, TV/DVI, AGP8X
(Model Number: GC-R360-D3)

Video Capture Card

Dvico Fusion High Definition TV Tuner and Capture Card

Sound Card

Creative Sound Blaster Live Digital Entertainment 5.1

Speakers

LOGITECH Z-5500 THX Digital Speakers

Network Card/Accessories

Textronics Network Card
Network Cable 20m
Coaxial Cable

Printer

(I will purchase printer separately later on) -

Keyboard/Mouse

Thermaltake X-III Office Keyboard (PS/2) & Optical Mouse (USB) Combo Silver (Model Number: A1806)

Miscellaneous Items

USB 2.0 x 6 (Additional USB 2.0 ports in the back of the PC while two USB 2.0 ports come standard with the computer case)

Software

MS Windows XP OEM Service Pack 2 (Including CD) -
+All other bundled software included with the hardware package -
__________________

lge.com.au is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 08:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

Get at least an ATA133 IDE HDD, or a SATA ATA150 (a bit more complicated).
Never heard of that RAM, Corsair, Mushkin, and OCZ are the industry standards.
If you can afford it, word on the street is that the 6600 GT and 6800 GT are both better than the 9800 Pro now.
__________________

__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 09:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

Yeah, never buy crap ram like that because it will bottle-neck your pc like a (ear muffs on) motha ****a (ear muffs off). The 6600 GT is about $70 more than the 9800 pro and is a very future proof upgrade. The 6800 GT would set you back $170 more than the 9800 pro but you would have apporoximatly 75% increase in graphics performance.
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 09:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
Default

I am currently living in Australia and computer prices are really high here! I think I can get a different brand of RAM and better HDDs but the graphics cards cost like $800-900 Australian. $AUS1=US 75c

BTW I read many reviews and most people say that ATI Radeon is better than NVIDIA cards while AMD is better than Intel. But I get different opinions from different people, a lot of people told me to get AMD but I have always used Intel Pentiums so I am still cautious about making the change. What do you guys think about AMD vs Intel?
lge.com.au is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 09:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

Wow, you copied and pasted that same thing above this post and made another thread. Don't you admins love that?
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 10:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

He said he made a mistake... hes a noob let him be. Anyways do you have any friends that live in the united states? I'm not sure if Australia uses PAL or NTSC but if it's NTSC just have your friend buy the stuff and have it shipped to you, then you pay him/her back.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 10:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default

thats what i would do and for gaming AMD is alot better. just like i said always before its all in personal preference and dont tear your hair out trying to figure out which one to buy. get whatever appeals to you but i would have to say that intels are way more exspensive and on these forums amd are the preference.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 01:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
Default

Sorry guys for starting that new thread, I accidently pressed the wrong button. Anyway I will actually be doing:

* Website Development
* Creating Graphics
* Using AutoCAD 200X
* Listening to music
* Downloading
* Chatting
* Playing strategy games (C&C Generals, Battlefield 1/2 etc)

So thats why I really wanted to know what would be the best medium to do all that in. From what I see at shops the prices for AMD and Intel Pentium are very similar, though I am not as much familiar with the AMD models as Intel P4 models.

BTW in Australia we use the PAL format, and I have got many friends in USA and Canada but I dont want to go to all that trouble for a single PC.

Also I just got off the phone with my computer supplier, he said he will provide me with 1GB DDR 400mhz RAM from Corsair. I heard Corsair is a good brand so I dont mind. But it will set me back around $US606.28. Its expensive!
lge.com.au is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 01:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
Default SATA and Ultra ATA?

Oh yeah BTW guys whats the difference between SATA and Ultra ATA? Which one is faster for hard drives? Coz I was wondering if I should buy a Seagate Barracuda 200GB SATA or Ultra ATA?
__________________

lge.com.au is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.