My new H20 Setup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2005, 04:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Talking My new H20 Setup

Woohoo, finally after having my poor computer down for over a week I got it back yesterday and started putting it altogether, only to find out I didn't quite have enough tubing to finish the loop.....literally missing one piece lol....the piece I had was too short, and the two ends that needed connecting were really close which results in the hose kinking.....anywho, it's up now, and liquid is flowing through it's veins

I have no turned the computer on yet....so I will be reporting back in this post a little bit later with that...I've never been able to take apart my computer, put it back together again and have it boot first try, so chances are I'll have to troubleshoot something although I hope to god I don't have to.

Currently I'm letting the system bleed (getting air bubbles out) and all that good stuff and in one of the pics you'll see paper towel pieces which of course is to help me determine leaks if any.


Anywho, here's my modded out computer, which isn't quite finished as there's still the side panel to get done, the T-line to properly mount, LED's and a cold cathode to add and things of that nature which I'll be posting at a later date.

On with the pics!

My Coolant



Maze4GPU with tweakmonster RAM Sinks on the 6800GT




"Nubiu$" etching done in plexi top



Preliminary fittings



(you can see the loop is not complete, and the bit of hose sticking off the T of the pump is the one that wouldn't quite fit)

And final loop with coolant



Yeah it turned out more pinkish than red, but I didn't want to add a lot of the red dye I have because too much dye and antifreeze will just wind up killing performance....soooo I'm going to see how the setup does and then possibly add more dye to it later....plus I'll have red LED'd fans so that might make it look more red when all is said and done.

That's all folks.....hopefully I'll be up and running within the hour and can post back with new temps and such
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 04:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Right on man, looks good. Are you going to have to move that long tube in front to get the side panel on?

You going to be ready to do it all over again when you switch to your A64?
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 04:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

That's pretty sweet man. Let us all know how it works out for you and what the temps are!
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 04:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to MrBebop26 Send a message via Yahoo to MrBebop26
Default

Hey good job! Looks good, you put anti-freeze in there? If so, where did you find clear antifreeze?

-Ryan
MrBebop26 is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 04:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Right on man, looks good. Are you going to have to move that long tube in front to get the side panel on?
Which one, the one going from the maze4 to the T-line or the T-line itself with the fillport at the top? The fillport one I will be drilling a hole in the case at the top and be mounting it properly, that's just a temp solution for now....if you meant the one going from the maze4, nah the pump would sooner get in the way of the panel.

EDIT: Oh yeah, can't friggen wait to do it all over again for AMD64
oh well, that'll be the last time I'll have to do it for a while and I guess this just gives me practice

Quote:
Looks good, you put anti-freeze in there? If so, where did you find clear antifreeze?
Yeah it was anti-freeze, but it was actually red antifreeze, toyota....well screw it....I just took a pic I'll attach the pic so you can see what I used specifically...the stuff is really blood red, BUT I only used about a 7-10% mixture of anti-freeze to distilled water and then a few drops of 'fire red dye' from Dtek, but yeaah I'd have to like use the whole damn bottle to get it REALLY red lol.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg antifreeze.jpg (61.7 KB, 75 views)
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 04:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to MrBebop26 Send a message via Yahoo to MrBebop26
Default

Toyota? Oh well. Just kidding but you can add food coloring to it, it wont do anything to the anti-freeze.

-Ryan
MrBebop26 is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 04:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I asked that question over at xtremesystems.org about food coloring and I got mixed results....a lot of people were like 'ehhh I don't know about the pump' and I think there was only one person who had actually done it, sooo yeah I went with the fire red dye from dtek, but even with food coloring I'd have to add a good amount just like the dye to get it really red which would kill performance a little.
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 05:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Looking good, you already know my thoughts on all of this. I'll get a nice little prelude of what sort of results to expect from mine.

I read somewhere when I was looking into watercooling that food colouring will eventually junk up the pump and even other high resistant parts if it's left in long enough, can't remember where exactly I read it though.

Hopefully everything will go smoothly for ya.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 05:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yay! My computer is running! Woohoo! By the grace of god is the only way this booted practically first try....it gave me some weird error like 'CPU UNWORKING' and yes I swear it said something to the effect of unworking, but it posted and was recognizing the CPU but was at 600MHz and froze at that spot....then my keyboard wasn't working so I had to swap it out with this old white crappy one, and rebooted, this keyboard worked, got into BIOS, set it at 1.8GHz (stock) and bam it booted into windows, so far so good, so then I restart, put it back at my normal 2.5GHz with 1.85Vcore and bam here I am in windows!

Now for temps cause I know that's what you're all dying to see

CPU Full load - 39C compared to 49-50C with my tornado at full blast

GPU - 47C compared to 70C (idle) I don't have idle temps for the CPU because I got folding going on in the background so my CPU is constantly at 100% and I don't have full load GPU yet because I haven't run anything yet but I'll be sure to post that up sooner or later as well
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 05:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Nice, that GPU temp change is GREAT! I would have to think no more than 60 full load wich is cool as hell for a 6800GT.

So you think you can go higher on the CPU OC now? Or are you maxed with voltage, RAM etc?

You should also be able to run that GPU at 425 core 24/7 easy now.
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.