my new e6300 - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2006, 12:48 PM   #31 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by zeppelinfan2009
i said thr drivers were bad, like i said i like ati better than nvidia anyway. I had intel processors everytime before i finaly decided to go amd, and they always casued me problems so whatever lol it dont matter anyway
how are their drivers bad?
__________________

__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 02:05 PM   #32 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 105
Default

they dont take advantage of the card, my ati card uses omega and i get 20 fps more in games, now i get 170 in stead of 150 with catalyst lol
__________________

__________________
Amd x2 5000+
9500gt PNY
2 gigs adata
Antec Earthwatts 480
zeppelinfan2009 is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 02:38 PM   #33 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Their Linux drivers are unusable, I can't believe they even work sometimes.

ATi's drivers are a joke.
The General is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 04:17 PM   #34 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

yo, wat and where is this omega driver, i have an ati x1900xt?
harry18 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 05:59 AM   #35 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by harry18
ok, i got my comp up and running good, ive done a lil mild OCing, got it to 2.8, im gonna try max out the fsb and get it to 3.1ghz, and super pi....20sec
wait a minute... fsb 400.. isnt that just ddr 800???? what is the fsb stock... so stock fsb doesnt even run ram at ddr 800! and stock voltage.. whoa, some one tell me whats going on here??

wait.. sooo??? im lost.. please help me out here...

so stock fsb is only 266???? is that right? so its only running ddr532?? odd number..
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 11:34 AM   #36 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NosBoost300
wait a minute... fsb 400.. isnt that just ddr 800???? what is the fsb stock... so stock fsb doesnt even run ram at ddr 800! and stock voltage.. whoa, some one tell me whats going on here??

wait.. sooo??? im lost.. please help me out here...

so stock fsb is only 266???? is that right? so its only running ddr532?? odd number..
Stock FSB is 266 so a "divider" is used to run the RAM higher than the FSB. I quoted divider, since in this case, it is actually used to make the RAM run faster than the FSB, rather than slower. The common ones used at stock settings would be:

2:3 - FSB:RAM - So at a FSB of 266 the RAM is at 400 or DDR2-800
4:5 - FSB:RAM - So at a FSB of 266 the RAM is at 333 or DDR2-667
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 11:35 AM   #37 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

What is the benefit of running ram faster than your FSB?
The General is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 04:11 AM   #38 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

the ram can handle the speed and it causes improvemnet at any guess well a lower fsb with a higher multiplier i s more reliable...
??
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.