My new comp set-up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2003, 05:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Cool My new comp set-up

Hey guys wassup this is going to be my new comp set-up from next week i just wanted to ask if it is going to be good or not?????

Motherboard: Gigabyte 7n400pro2 (only because on Nforce2)
Processor: Amd Athlon XP 2500+
Hard-Drive: 40gb Maxtor 7200RPM
Ram: 256mb pc3200 DDR ram
Monitor: 19" Phillips CRT display
Gfx card: Still deciding between a Nvidia FX 5200 or an ATI Radeon 9200 (suggestions welcome)

Yeah so guys if you have any other suggestions for improvements i could make please tell me asap.

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 10-04-2003, 05:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 8
Send a message via ICQ to sneaky

Yea!! go syphanx
Amd are really good choice. I got a 2600+ ^^"'

To bad im replying to this message while we are lanning in the same room ^^;;; gg


sneaky is offline  
Old 10-06-2003, 10:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx

Not bad.. btw, get the Radeon
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 10-07-2003, 10:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500

Good Base,,

I would suggest increasing your ram to minimum 512, and at best 1 gb ,, especially with the nforce board to take advantage of some of the tweaking abilities,,

pay now,, save later!

Crash Abbott

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 10-08-2003, 06:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii

upgrade the ram most definatly.. also if, you're going to spend the money on a video card and you want a better gaming quality, i'd say upgrade to getting a geforce 5600, a 128mb would suit you just well, although i went for the 256 meg card, and the more ram the better.. seriously, don't let anyone tell you that you won't need it, i just recently added my second stick of 512, and i have dual chan, so games are quick.. there's a little tidbit for you to think about, and AMD rocks!
Demalii is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.