My New Build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2007, 06:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 63
Default My New Build

Got my new build finally yesterday,

C2D E6400
EVGA Nvidia 680i SLI
2Gb Corsair Dominator 6400
Saphire X1950 XT
Zalman 9500
TT Purepowe 550 Modular PSU
Maxtor DM20 160GB

Overclocking results coming soon, anyone else with similar setup to give me some sort of idea of what i should be aiming for?
__________________

__________________
XP PRO - Thermaltake Tsunami Dream - C2D E6400@3.2 - EVGA Nvidia 680i SLI - 2Gb Corsair Dominator 6400 - Sapphire X1950 XT - TT Purepower 550W Modular PSU - Zalman 9500
Bmsh is offline  
Old 01-12-2007, 06:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Higach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to Higach
Default

thats similar to what im ordering tonight or tomorrow, im gonna favorite this thread so I know how mine will turn out

shoot for 400x8 3.2GHz out of the 6400 and the zalman lol thats what i wanna try for
__________________

__________________

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 GHz
Zalman 9500 HSF
BIOSTAR Tforce 965PT
eVGA 7950gt 512MB @ 590/740
3x1GB G.Skill DDR2 800 PC2 6400
Western Digital 160GB 7200RPM 16mb Cache
KINGWIN sk-523
Fortorn Source FSP 400W
Higach is offline  
Old 01-12-2007, 06:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

Why did you get a sli mobo with an ati card? Are you planing to get a couple of G80 cards later. If not then i would have gone with an asus p5w-d for crossfire. Not saying it won't work but crossfire on a sli mobo will limit its preformance.

Other then that, sweet computer . You should get a nice oc out of that e6400 w/ zalman 9500 (make sure to use some as5).
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 01-12-2007, 08:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 63
Default

yeah, dont plan on going sli for a while Gts are too much £ atm. just gonna sit it out for a while.
__________________
XP PRO - Thermaltake Tsunami Dream - C2D E6400@3.2 - EVGA Nvidia 680i SLI - 2Gb Corsair Dominator 6400 - Sapphire X1950 XT - TT Purepower 550W Modular PSU - Zalman 9500
Bmsh is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 06:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Another uk nerd, good stuff
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 10:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 63
Default



got me up to 3.2 easily with good temps, havent pushed it any further yet but will
__________________
XP PRO - Thermaltake Tsunami Dream - C2D E6400@3.2 - EVGA Nvidia 680i SLI - 2Gb Corsair Dominator 6400 - Sapphire X1950 XT - TT Purepower 550W Modular PSU - Zalman 9500
Bmsh is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 03:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

looking good. I got my e6600 at 8x425 w/ my zalman. See if you can get to 3.4ghz too , and if 60*c load temps don't bother you then you can prob get 3.6ghz with 8x450 . I had it at 3.6ghz but it was too hot for my liking, but as long as you keep load temps under 60*c then your fine. Just don't go over 70*c if you get pushy , although one guy had his e6600 at 80*c for a while and it didn't hurt it at least not in preformance, maybe life span though .
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 05:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 63
Default

yeah, im only at 40c, got just over 12k on 3DMark 05

__________________

__________________
XP PRO - Thermaltake Tsunami Dream - C2D E6400@3.2 - EVGA Nvidia 680i SLI - 2Gb Corsair Dominator 6400 - Sapphire X1950 XT - TT Purepower 550W Modular PSU - Zalman 9500
Bmsh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.