My mother's computer. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2004, 02:18 AM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Since your mom is going to be doing photo editing and all the movie stuff it would probably be way better to go with intel,it would work alot better than amd since amd is only good for gaming.

i would go with this cpu.
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...116-176&depa=1

and this board.
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...131-492&depa=0
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 02:20 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to jmjkwag
Default

I'm going to go ahead and agree with the previous posts. You've got a heckuvalot of power in the proposed machine. Really I'd go with the following specs, they'll suit her fine. My father-in-law runs a machine with 2/3 these specs using a high end camera and Pinacle pro edition for video editing. Certainly photo editing isn't going to take up more power than rendering
Processor - 3.0 GHz
Motherboard/case/fans/case extras - whatever you want
Ram - 1 Gig PC-3200
Read/Write DVD and CD - writable DVD drive is essential for video creation
Video Card - spend max $250, GeForce FX5700 256M would be perfect though (and I believe it's the same card my father-in-law just upgraded to on my recommendation)
Sound Card - You may want to note whether her video editing program works well with onboard sound, there are some issues with many video editing programs due to onboard sound

Hope that helps
__________________

jmjkwag is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 02:21 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Default

Even if the P4 would be better (and I doubt it is).... If i was going to sell my soul to satan I would rather do it right and buy her a mac.
oldschool is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 02:24 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Default

I'll think about adding a SBA2. But I was under the idea that the sound on this board was really good.

She was planing on getting the Pinacle pro edition software.
oldschool is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 11:59 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 43
Default

Going the Intel route would not be wise as the new athlon 64s beat the intels even in the multimedia department, plus Intels cost like twice as much and run very hot. AMD is the way to go. Also your 939 board is very future proof, so in a year or two you will be able to pop in a dual core CPU when they come out and get wicked performance. I think that you will be better off running 2 gigs of ram in dual channel mode over 3 gigs single, because dual channel is faster plus I can almost say for sure you will not use all 3 gigs of ram.

For a s939 board, the MSI K8N NEO2 PLATINUM would be a very good choice for price / performance
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ @ 240x10 = 2400Mhz
Stock cooler (for now)
DFI LanParty UT NF4-UltraD
2x 1GB OCZ PC3200 EL Platinum
eVGA Geforce 7950GT
1x Seagate 7200.9 250GB SATA
2x Seagate 7200.7 120GB SATA
420 Watt Enlight PSU
Logitech Z-680 powered by onboard audio
LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM
NEC ND-3500A 16x8x16 DVD+/-RW


http://www.tcdextreme.com
FuriousYellow is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 01:33 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Default

Good pick on the board. I was going to pick this board. I do belieave that they are the same one

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-468&depa=0

This board has four ram slots.
Does that mean I cold do 4 sticks doing two "dual channel modes".

So like 4 sticks of 512 or 4 sticks of 1GB?

Also I'll ask again and see if anyone knows. Is dual channel mode something that has to be turn on in bois? Or does it auto run when you have the ram set up right?
oldschool is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 06:32 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 43
Default

When you have 4 sticks of ram in this mobo, 2 sticks will run on one channel and the other 2 on the other channel. And for the other question, I believe dual channel enables itself automatically, as I have never seen any BIOS options for it before. You just have to make sure all sticks are identical, even if it means buying 2 sets of dual channel optimized ram of the same brand / type. If I am wrong, someone please correct me. Yes the mobo in the link you just gave is the same one as I recommended
__________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ @ 240x10 = 2400Mhz
Stock cooler (for now)
DFI LanParty UT NF4-UltraD
2x 1GB OCZ PC3200 EL Platinum
eVGA Geforce 7950GT
1x Seagate 7200.9 250GB SATA
2x Seagate 7200.7 120GB SATA
420 Watt Enlight PSU
Logitech Z-680 powered by onboard audio
LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM
NEC ND-3500A 16x8x16 DVD+/-RW


http://www.tcdextreme.com
FuriousYellow is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 09:08 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

Who is putting everything together?
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 12:32 AM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by m3incorp
Who is putting everything together?
i believe oldschool is, as his mother asked him to build her the computer.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 01:18 AM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Default

I am. It will be more then fun.
__________________

oldschool is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.