My i7 trials, with a lot of error. - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2009, 05:12 PM   #31 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: My i7 trials, with a lot of error.

One of these would do the trick, HeHeHe
Portable Air Circulator Fan 42in., 1/2 HP, 950013,300 CFM, Model# PT-42-BDFSBG | Floor Fans | Northern Tool + Equipment
__________________

Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 05:15 PM   #32 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: My i7 trials, with a lot of error.

Yep.

You mounted one of those on your TRUE yet?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 05:31 PM   #33 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: My i7 trials, with a lot of error.

I'm trying to figure the best possible angle
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-16-2009, 06:39 AM   #34 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 555
Default Re: My i7 trials, with a lot of error.

well if were going to get rediculous like that I already have a 30 some inch fan I can use :P
__________________
*UPDATED*
Windows 7 64bit
CPU: Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67Ghz (Stock)
GPU: GTX 760
Ram: OCZ Platinum 6GB DDR3 1600 Triple Channel (Stock)
Mobo: ASUS P6T Deluxe
PSU: Corsair TX750W
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache (ST31000333AS)
Cooler Master HAF 932
Gothch1ck is offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 08:23 PM   #35 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 555
Default Re: My i7 trials, with a lot of error.

Little update - since I put off for so long some things have changed, mainly:

1. The HAF 932 I was going to buy no longer has free shipping - this is going to kill my prices.
2. The XFX 4890 GPU I was going to buy no longer has free shipping - so +$8
3. I almost have enough money for both- Thur OR when my PayPal clears a transaction I can get both.


I really didn't want to have to pay $20+ in shipping for the case.. anyone know anywhere for cheaper? Newegg is where I was looking... but won't be buying until it has "free shipping" again -if anytime soon.
__________________
*UPDATED*
Windows 7 64bit
CPU: Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67Ghz (Stock)
GPU: GTX 760
Ram: OCZ Platinum 6GB DDR3 1600 Triple Channel (Stock)
Mobo: ASUS P6T Deluxe
PSU: Corsair TX750W
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache (ST31000333AS)
Cooler Master HAF 932
Gothch1ck is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 03:28 AM   #36 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 555
Default Re: My i7 trials, with a lot of error.

Well the new GPU is in, installed, and games run and all.. but.. I am still not satisfied... not that the PC is bad or anything it's just... eh.. I expected more?


I think I need to Optimize my system... I am sure there is somethings I don't know about that are making it not as performance perfect as I was hoping.


Seeing Fallout3 in Full 3D, full Textures, Full Render, Full Screen and HDR is nice though.. good so see what Nuka Cola Quantum looks like with it's glow on too lol.

My FPS isn't as great as I was expecting.. but then again I am playing on a much larger size resolution, from 1024x768 to 1900x1080 , so I am sure this and the Low to Ultra detail levels are what killed my expected constant 60+ FPS (Rarely I drop to 40- FPS for a few moments)

My temps: I was scared to get GPU first because of this old case and it's lack of High Air Flow capabilities... but... I am rather amazed at the results.

Before my CPU would idle at around 44C and full load at about 72C with the new GPU in (which is a 2 slot and vents out the back) it actually helped my Temps drop down. I idle around 41-42C now and max load is still 70-71C now, but the best news is = They didn't go UP.

I don't know how to set up my GPU temp stuff.... the instructions the GPU came with.. don't go into that detail, I kinda expected "Plug N Play" but.. yeah.. for some reason RealTemp won't read the GPU temps.


I haven't played a whole lot of games, just STEAM's "Killing Floor" and Bethesda's Fallout 3 (all DLC) the graphics improvements are highly noticed, especially in lighting/shadow, however the games don't run as glassy smooth as expected.. again probably due to increased Resolution size.. but I thought this could handle it....

OC may become an option... after Optimization of course.

HAWX is an ok game I guess.. but.. it really needs a Joystick.

I guess part of the expected graphics change were not on my PC side at all but the Game Engines' capabilities... and I never thought about it... I want to go into HL2M now to see if the "Odd Reflections" still happen to me, where everything (even cloth) seems glassy or metallic (downloading and installing)

If anyone has any Optimize Windows 7 RC ideas let me know here, I will be spending a few hours browsing the threads and net for any pre-made tutorials.
__________________
*UPDATED*
Windows 7 64bit
CPU: Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67Ghz (Stock)
GPU: GTX 760
Ram: OCZ Platinum 6GB DDR3 1600 Triple Channel (Stock)
Mobo: ASUS P6T Deluxe
PSU: Corsair TX750W
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache (ST31000333AS)
Cooler Master HAF 932
Gothch1ck is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 03:41 AM   #37 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: My i7 trials, with a lot of error.

what speed are you running your ram at? is it at 1600?
You may want to set up xms in your bios.
It will automatically clock your cpu to around 133 bclk. A small jump from stock but it is a good setup to run your ram at 1600. It will also set your dram volts to 1.65 which will allow your ram to run at the specified 1600.
these small changes should not effect your temps much but you should see a bit of an improvement.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 04:10 AM   #38 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 555
Default Re: My i7 trials, with a lot of error.

Not sure what my RAM is running at, I know it can go to 1600 and all, but I haven't touched it from stock settings....


Not sure what that XMS thing is - I am brand new to the whole "overclocking and tweaking" Pc thing, normally I just set my graphics low and my resolution as small as it would go to play games... it was funny getting a 486 machine to play Unreal Tournament, very plain textures (The pistol was straight blocks and green with no detail, muzzle flash was a bright square, and the surrounding world's textures were very basic in shape and colours)
__________________
*UPDATED*
Windows 7 64bit
CPU: Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67Ghz (Stock)
GPU: GTX 760
Ram: OCZ Platinum 6GB DDR3 1600 Triple Channel (Stock)
Mobo: ASUS P6T Deluxe
PSU: Corsair TX750W
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache (ST31000333AS)
Cooler Master HAF 932
Gothch1ck is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 04:23 AM   #39 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: My i7 trials, with a lot of error.

run cpuz and you can see what your ram is set at. multiply it by 2.

xms is a preset overclocking profile in the asus bios.
It is designed to run your ram at 1600.
It will set the bclk at such for a nice multi to get your ram running at its rated speed.
It is a very small OC of your processor.

Try it out and check temps. there will be no change to your vcore so temps should be the same with faster ram.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 06-01-2009, 09:17 AM   #40 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 555
Default Re: My i7 trials, with a lot of error.

I have:
Manual
Auto
D.O.C.P. (overclocks DRAM frequency by adjusting BCLK frequency)
and
X.M.P. (eXtreme Memory Profile - apparently my RAM doesn't support it when chosen an option is grayed out.)



Otherwise manually I can adjust all kinds of things- main 2 in particular having the option to select RAM speed and then under it another option to select frequency- with a note stating it must be at least 2x the speed ... should I just set that to 1600 and then 3200?

I am actually using the splashtop web option to change this, since I can jump to bios easily from here... very nice little addition they gave this board...(took me 10 seconds to get here and it takes about 5 seconds to get back to bios.. lol)



and reading up on my ram and such.. it's possible to go crazy O.Cing it I guess.. to even speeds beyond 1800 (not that I have OC sickness...just reading and sharing information... lolz)
__________________

__________________
*UPDATED*
Windows 7 64bit
CPU: Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67Ghz (Stock)
GPU: GTX 760
Ram: OCZ Platinum 6GB DDR3 1600 Triple Channel (Stock)
Mobo: ASUS P6T Deluxe
PSU: Corsair TX750W
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache (ST31000333AS)
Cooler Master HAF 932
Gothch1ck is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can not install XP on my 2nd build (pci.sys error) xtx89 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 11-09-2008 09:45 PM
Hard Drive "Delayed Write Failed" error ohGrFreak Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 10-27-2007 10:28 PM
Internal power error mike4realz Microsoft Windows and Software 1 10-18-2007 08:11 AM
Online/Offline Status mademokid Programming 1 07-06-2007 09:25 PM
I need some help trose Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-05-2007 11:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.