My friends alien... - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2006, 01:18 AM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

Depends on the monitor... At 1280*1024 (think thats right) my monitors refresh rate maxs at 60... 800x600 its like 180 or 200 i forget...
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 03:00 AM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

FPS is the driving force in games today... If your FPS is low, your going to get owned by those with higher FPS. In realtime online gameplay those that can feel more responsive gameplay, can react faster. Not only do FPS play a part in this but so does Latency. LAGGGGG....
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 08:03 AM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 180
Default

im used to playing at 30fps lol>.< had a dell XPS p3 and i have gotten so used to it everything else seems soooo bloody fast... this semprons gonna be wooo
__________________
Furby:
2500k @ 4.5Ghz max: 81C idle 33C
8 gigs ddr 3 Kingston Hyper x T1 @ 1600mhz
Asus P8P67Pro b3.1
Evga GeForce gtx 560 at 940mhz 1gbddr5
western digital black 1tb sata3
Viewsonic 22"
Windows 7 home premium 64bit
beluga is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 08:10 AM   #24 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I would consider things playable at a bare minimum of 15 fps, though I prefer at least 30
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 11:10 AM   #25 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

see, that's me too. I am playing Age of Empires III right now, and have everything maxed. I'm around 15-18fps, but it looks fine. Granted, it's a RTS game, so you don't have to move in your surroundings quite as fast. But anything over 30, and I feel spoiled.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 01:04 PM   #26 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

haha... i felt spoiled just using my friends alien... amazing... never played a game so smooth... although i couldnt tell the difference between 40 frames and 75 frames
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 06:10 AM   #27 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

i just got to check his 3d05 scores... he got somewhere in the 12,000's... and his cpu was high 4000's i think
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 12:28 PM   #28 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

are you sure he got in the 12000's..? I mean, most guys on here with 7800GT's get like 8 grand. And I don't think any kind of SLI would boost the score 50%. I'm just saying...

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 12:39 PM   #29 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

they are 7800gtx's not 7800gt's
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 12:51 PM   #30 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Well, I was just thinkin, if you got a 7800GTX in an alien, you just spend a truckload of cash. I figured anyone who went to alien for a computer wouldn't know the difference between a gt and gtx, and the gt would look a lot more inviting. but, yes, I know that 7800gtx's are capable of scores like that.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.