My FPS In Older Games??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2010, 07:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 73
Send a message via MSN to EoADark
Default My FPS In Older Games???

Hey guys. Currently I have a EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 Superclocked. I had EVGA Precision and I left it open so it would display my in-game FPS and other things. I was playing Day Of Defeat: Source and I noticed that I am only getting around 60 FPS. And that game doesn't hardly require anything and the graphics aren't that great. Now I was playing Counter Strike: Source which was just recently updated and the graphics are about the same maybe a bit better and I am running anywhere between 250 and 299.9 FPS which is max for Source games. Any Ideas??
__________________

EoADark is offline  
Old 07-01-2010, 08:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: My FPS In Older Games???

Is Vsync enabled in that game?
__________________

__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 07-01-2010, 08:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 73
Send a message via MSN to EoADark
Default Re: My FPS In Older Games???

Yea it is enabled.
EoADark is offline  
Old 07-01-2010, 08:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: My FPS In Older Games???

vsync limits your FPS.
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 07-01-2010, 08:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: My FPS In Older Games???

Turn it off and your FPS should go up.
__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 07-01-2010, 09:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 73
Send a message via MSN to EoADark
Default Re: My FPS In Older Games???

Okay thanks guys...
EoADark is offline  
Old 07-01-2010, 10:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: My FPS In Older Games???

Tell us how it goes .
__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 07-01-2010, 10:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 73
Send a message via MSN to EoADark
Default Re: My FPS In Older Games???

Well I turned it off and its not going any more than 100. It goes to about 297 in the main menu and loading into games but 70 average in game.
EoADark is offline  
Old 07-02-2010, 05:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: My FPS In Older Games???

older games have a frame limit that you cannot dissable. like my Battle Filed 1942 games, it runs at 60 frames a second, while i run Battle field bad company 2 at over 100 fps.

older games usually wont go over 60 frames a second.
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 07-02-2010, 09:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 85
Default Re: My FPS In Older Games???

Quote:
Originally Posted by EoADark View Post
Well I turned it off and its not going any more than 100. It goes to about 297 in the main menu and loading into games but 70 average in game.
Just upgraded from a eVGA GTX 260 core 216, awesome card. Try running the game with all the graphic settings low. See if your frame rate still hovers around 70. If it does, your CPU is bottlenecking you. Source engine games are really more reliant on the processor. Also if your using 16xAA drop it down to 8x. I can not tell a single difference in picture quality, at 1920x1200, between the 16x and 8x in any source game except TF2 a tiny little bit (but that is because of the over contrast effect).

DoD and every other Source game can run up to 300FPS AFAIK. CS:S has a benchmark utility built into it, if you want to tweak settings as best possible for your idea of perfect compromise of FPS and graphics.
__________________

__________________
Intel i7-930 @ 2.8ghz/Asus Rampage III Extreme /G.Skill Trident DDR3-2000 3x2gb
eVGA GTX 480 SC/Corsair AX1200/Coolermaster Haf X
WD 1Tb 7200rpm 32mb cache sata2/LG DVD-RW/Windows 7
Logitech z-5500 Speakers/Logitech G5 Mouse/Generic Keyboard
Like2game is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FPS issues in FPS games Imperium Laptops and Notebooks 16 05-29-2010 01:59 PM
The Tech Forums Official Crysis [Warhead] GPU Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 543 03-12-2010 12:32 AM
Backdoor in top iPhone games stole user data Osiris Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 1 11-25-2009 10:17 PM
i think i know why i get lower fps in Crysis/Crysis Warhead after upgrading my CPU Wildside PC Gaming 39 05-12-2009 08:26 PM
Why do I get low FPS in games? EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 17 10-14-2007 11:05 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.