My first RAID 0 setup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2009, 06:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default My first RAID 0 setup

Well I did have a 160gb 7200.9 RAID 0 setup ages ago on my 4400x2 setup but I didn't know what I was doing and never had it working properly...

Anyway, I got 2 Hitachi 7k1000.B 750GB drives for a great price...these are Hitachi's new drives with 2 platters, so that's 375gb per platter which ain't too bad

Here's an hdtune bench...

I had the setup on the Silicon Image controller on my P5Q first and performance was.... ick....about 120mb/sec read max!! :/ As you can see, the ICH10R is MUCH, MUCH beter.

__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 12:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: My first RAID 0 setup

Nice! I'm still debating doing a RAID setup sometime in the future. Have you done any actual tests? I'm not very familiar with HD Tune, I didn't know if there would be a point to attempting to move a very large file and testing the speed, and moving loads of small files and testing.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 08:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: My first RAID 0 setup

Well here's a folder containing 48mb rar files for a total of 1.12GB being copied....and on the right is a single 1GB file being moved. Takes literally a couple seconds, it doesn't even have time to calculate how the time remaining.

And unrarring a 720p TV episode (little over a 1gb) takes about 6 seconds....and application startup time is significantly faster as is windows boot time.



**edit***

just did another bench and got better results this time...I've got to say that I'm quite pleased with this setup...these seem like great drives!

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAID Setup morrty Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 01-02-2009 04:13 PM
New RAID Setup thatsinsane New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-30-2008 09:33 PM
How does one setup RAID SHaTTaFaKKaP New Systems | Building and Buying 8 08-31-2007 12:13 AM
Pre-RAID Guide veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-20-2007 11:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.