My First Overclock! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2006, 12:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default My First Overclock!

Today after much guide reading, I did my first cpu overclock.

I curently have an AMD 3700+, MSI Neo4-F MoBo, and an MSI 500watt PSU.

Well anyway, I raised the FSB from 200 to 210, left the voltage where it was, and sucsesfuly raised my clock speed by .1ghz

Not much but I didnt want to push it my first time.

I lowered it back to its original speed when I was done, because Im on stock cooling and I dont trust my PSU enough to handle the delicate process of overclocking.

Please feel free to coment if you have any advice or noticed if I did anything wrong.
__________________

__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 01:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

i pushed it so hard when i first OC my machine....and had to reset CMOS like 5 times a day...well at least i know my CPU and RAM limit is... as long as the temp is fine, you can OC as much as you want till it gets unstable. (but you want to keep the vcore voltage under 1.6v though..) you can go more than .1ghz OC w/ stock HS/F for sure. ive noticed that ppl are so afraid to OC their own comps. dont be so afraid to OC. it will shut itself off before it starts smoking anyway. do some more experiment (using ram divider, loosening ram timing, etc.) and have some fun!
__________________

__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 12:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

Well when I was done overclocking I checked CPUz, and the core voltage was fluctuating in small incraments. I wasnt sure if was supposed to do that so I freaked out and changed it back.

Plus is my PSU (MSI 500watt turbomaster) stable enough for overclocking. I would much rather have an Antec, but I blew all my money on my Video Card.
__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 01:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

It always does that. Don't worry nothing is wrong. My temps on stock cooling never hit above 40*C. Just keep the temps under 55*C prime95 load and voltages under 1.6V and your fine.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 06:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

Well with my MSI 500 watt psu, MSI neo4-f motherboard, AMD 3700+ (2.2ghz stock), and stock cooling, and just the stock thermal pad.

My FSB right now is 200

How high could I raise it without changing the voltage or endangering my cpu?
__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 07:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
How high could I raise it without changing the voltage or endangering my cpu?
There is no way to tell that information unless you are God himself. That primarily pertains to the 'without changing voltage' part, but as for the 'endangering CPU', well we CAN give you some info to that.

Don't go too far above 1.6v especially if you dont have good cooling. Even if you have really good cooling, I personally probably wouldn't go above 1.65 and even then that's pushing it a little bit. This wasn't a problem in the Athlon-XP days, but with the memory controller being on-die, raising the voltage too high can fry out the memory controller. Don't ask me how often that occurs though because I don't know.

Also, although it's cool that you're diving into overclocking, I wouldn't really consider it "My first overclock" when all you did was bump it up 10FSB for 5 mins then knock it back down.

When you claim an 'overclock' then it should be something you've raised, tested (prime95, gaming etc..) and is stable. THAT's an overclock. Anyone can knock up the FSB temporarily.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.