My First OC - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2007, 03:14 PM   #21 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: My First OC

The higher the FSB, the faster overall the computer performs, because the FSB is the channel through which all the components communicate.

But as zmatt and gurusan mentioned, try to keep the HT at 1000MHz.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 03:25 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: My First OC

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
The higher the FSB, the faster overall the computer performs, because the FSB is the channel through which all the components communicate.

But as zmatt and gurusan mentioned, try to keep the HT at 1000MHz.

And more importantly, how fast data is sent INTO the CPU.
Theres also backsidebus, which is how fast data is sent out of the CPU, but I don't know it for that Proc..
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 03:26 PM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shan1784's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 396
Default Re: My First OC

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
The higher the FSB, the faster overall the computer performs, because the FSB is the channel through which all the components communicate.

But as zmatt and gurusan mentioned, try to keep the HT at 1000MHz.

So then a multiplier of 12.5 and the FSB of 242 would be slower performance wise than a multiplier of 10 and a FSB of 300?
__________________
Rosewill Thor V2 Full Tower - i5 3570K Stock W/ CORSAIR Hydro Series H60
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mother Board - GTX 680 FTW+ w/Backplate 4GB
SAMSUNG 840 Pro 128GB SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD
Asus DVDRW 24x - CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX850 PSU
Samsung P2770FH ToC Rose Black 27" Monitor - Logitech G15 Keyboard
MX518 Mouse - Logitech x540 5.1 Speakers
Turtle Beach HPA2 5.1 Surround Sound Headset - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
shan1784 is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 03:27 PM   #24 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: My First OC

Technically, yes...but not significant.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 03:30 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: My First OC

Being Technically Correct is the best kind of Correctness!!! :P

To qoute Bureaucrat number one on futurama.

Ste is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 03:49 PM   #26 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shan1784's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 396
Default Re: My First OC

I read one article where my brisbane processor was OC to 3 ghz using the stock multiplier like I'm using but had the voltage set to 1.6... Isn't that kinda high???
__________________
Rosewill Thor V2 Full Tower - i5 3570K Stock W/ CORSAIR Hydro Series H60
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mother Board - GTX 680 FTW+ w/Backplate 4GB
SAMSUNG 840 Pro 128GB SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD
Asus DVDRW 24x - CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX850 PSU
Samsung P2770FH ToC Rose Black 27" Monitor - Logitech G15 Keyboard
MX518 Mouse - Logitech x540 5.1 Speakers
Turtle Beach HPA2 5.1 Surround Sound Headset - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
shan1784 is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 03:56 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: My First OC

Voltages settings can be anywhere, so long as the tempartures are under control.

So it might be high, but if he has good cooling, and LOad temp is below safe limits. There isn't a problem..
Ste is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 04:05 PM   #28 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shan1784's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 396
Default Re: My First OC

I've been using Everest to report the temps but is that accurate with a Brisbane... What is an acceptable temp at idle and under load???

Sorry for all the questions but I want to get it right...
__________________
Rosewill Thor V2 Full Tower - i5 3570K Stock W/ CORSAIR Hydro Series H60
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mother Board - GTX 680 FTW+ w/Backplate 4GB
SAMSUNG 840 Pro 128GB SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD
Asus DVDRW 24x - CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX850 PSU
Samsung P2770FH ToC Rose Black 27" Monitor - Logitech G15 Keyboard
MX518 Mouse - Logitech x540 5.1 Speakers
Turtle Beach HPA2 5.1 Surround Sound Headset - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
shan1784 is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 04:08 PM   #29 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: My First OC

For load temps, just keep it below 60C. 30-40C is a good idle temp.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 06:56 PM   #30 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: My First OC

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
it all depends on the motherboard chipset.....


Anyway...to the OP....if you're stable at 3ghz then you can put your HT link to 4...you always want to keep the HT link as close to 1000 as possible.
well, my nf4 ultra and this 590 run exactly the same. at a 9.5 multi...with memory settings of ddr2 400 (cpu/10 divider), ddr2 533 (cpu/8 divider), ddr2 667 (cpu/6 divider) and ddr2 800 (cpu/5 divider). the cpu/divider is from memory, so i mught be off on a couple. so actually, your divider number really depends on the cpu and it's stock multi, or what multi you choose to set it at, and the speed you set your ram to in bios.
i dont know of any intel chipset that works that way. but, i dont know everything . from what i understand, setting intel's memory divider dictates the speed, but there is no actual ram speed setting that affects the divider/ram speed.


also, at a lower ht...i have not noticed a significant difference between running a 5 x multi and a 3 x multi. except with a 3x i know it will be stable. the difference is negligible in performance.

also, as far as fsb goes...
your cpu will probably push past 300, but it may not like it too much. just a heads up, you will have to work some on it to get much more than that.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.