My first case mod in progress... woot. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2006, 12:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default My first case mod in progress... woot.

ok. I'm friggin' excited, sorry if i'm boring some of you. But this is my first case mod and we started today... So far every thing looks incredible. I'll post pics when everything is complete. But here is what we've done do far. (Obviously these pics aren't our mod) Just bare with me.

Case: ThermalTake Shark Black

The first thing we did was ,"Primer the honeycombing that was black and painted it metallic silver, we also primered and painted the arched molding around the honeycomb in a metallic blue" Then we applied Glossy clear coat." So far it looks friggin awesome.

On the door, we've primered, painted in Metallic blue and clearcoated the top portion of the door and the portion below the LED light. Then we Primered, painted silver and clearcoated the portion inside the bottom that looks like scales.

Then we installed one of these in the top panel of the case.

Added a pair of these to the top of the case.

Tomorrow we'll be ordering some wire sleeving for the front panel wires and some Cold Cathode lights and some LED fans.

I can't wait to post pics....
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 02:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

hmmm.. looks like it will turn out awesome. that case looks great even without a mod, so i wonder how it will look after a mod...
__________________

__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 03:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Oh yeah...

This case will be:

Opteron 150 (Certainly Overclocked - 2.8Ghz+)
Zalman 9500LED
ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe
Corsair XMS 3500LL's (2gig Kit)
150G WD Raptor 10K rpm SATA
300G Seagate SATA
(2) Plextor PX-71AL/SW slot loading
X-fi Fatal!ty FPS
PCP&C turbo-cool 850w
-=I've got all of the above=-

I'm just waiting on the 7900GTX's. I'm either going to go with 1 GTX now, or possible (2) 7900GT's in SLI. It depends on the prices.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 08:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

thats one **** of a nice computer and case you've got. (well, will have.)
i envy you.
joshd is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 12:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 138
Default

are you going with watercooling?
__________________
Biostar T-force 4U,Opteron 148@2.6Ghz.CorsairXMS DDR500-2gigs,EVGA7800GT CO.Seagate160gigSATA II,Koolance ICM 510 watercooling,Coolermaster Stacker830
cobalt817 is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 12:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

no water cooling, i've have no experience with watercooling thus far. And do not want to experiement with over $4000 worth of computer parts.
EDIT: 2.4Ghz... not 3.4Ghz which I typed originally... oops.
I'm using air cooling. I'm only planning on overclocking may-be 400Mhz. From 2.4Ghz to about 2.8Ghz on air. IF I can get myOpty 150 up to 3.0Ghz i'll be extremely happy, but the stepping I have of the Opty 150 is known not to be the best, but we'll see.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 02:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

Wow... that rig will kick a**! If I got my proccesor that high, I would be hella happy. Can't wait to see the pics -charlie
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 06:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

That looks like it's going to be pretty sweet havoc. Keep us updated. Where did you get those handles? Those are shiny, yet classy...

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 06:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

Yes, where did you get the handles and blowhole attachment? They look really good.
reckliss is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 10:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I ordered it from this guy at MNPCTECH. They have their own machine shop where they custom make everything they sell.

They shipped it super fast too... It's a tad bit expensive, but what do you want for custom stuff?

http://www.mnpctech.com/casemodstore.html
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.