My day spent overclocking - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2006, 06:54 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742

Originally posted by Ridlyn
I would like to see proof of that.

wtk pro l is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 07:03 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
reggie_da_man's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567

Trifid: Did you set your ram on a mahor divider before you sarted overclocking to see just how far your cpu can actually go?

In your face! In your face! lol I'm just joking.


reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 07:44 AM   #13 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

Originally posted by wtk pro l
Wow, those are nice numbers for a 3000+
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 12:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
fr34ky's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509

Originally posted by wtk pro l
Those are probaly benchmark speeds I dought those are even stable speeds.
fr34ky is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 01:28 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010

The AMD memory controller doesn't support 1.5 cas timmings....

I already had the memory on a divider due to having 4 sticks and a Winchester core, I already know that the difference isn't actually as bad as it could be having the memory at a slower speed on a AMD 64.

It passed Prime95 with no errors, it is stable if they are true, but I would prefer to see superpi run on it.

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 02:13 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Ridlyn's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920

Wow, i want that cpu.
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 05:08 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742

yea i looked at that and was like, impossible.
wtk pro l is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 05:17 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790

that obviously wasn't anywhere near 24/7 settings as 1.84vcore will kill any 90nm AMD64 fabrication very very quickly if you wanna try running that sort of voltage through your processor for extended periods...anything over 1.7v on AMD64 is virtually impossible unless you're using dry ice, LN2 or cascades

Trifid - you have that core under water so I don't see what the issue is, you're only pushing slightly over stock (~1.3-1.4) through that when it can easily handle at least 1.5v if not upwards of 1.6vcore if you feel comfortable feeding it that much

also don't see what the issue is with lowering HTT multiplier as it's already been demonstrated that higher HTT doesn't account for anything except instability issues

try bumping up LDT voltage to either 1.3v or 1.4v and bumping up chipset to may also wanna try looseing max async latency to 8 or possibly even 9ns if you are having issues with ram

Your board is far from an amazing overclocking though
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 10:04 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742

yea i ran a vcore of about 1.81 on my 4400 (on air) for about 5 minutes. just so i could push it to 3.0ghz.
wtk pro l is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 11:34 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 213

What's that program your using - where do you get it?

Athlon X2 Brisbane 3600+ @ 2.91Ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Biostar TForce 550
2GB Wintec AMPO DDR667 @ 831Mhz
Connect3D X1900GT Rev.2 580/1602
Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA + 80gb WD Caviar IDE
Fortron FSP Group 400W (18A/16A 12V)
5122 in 3DMark06
rx7i2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.