My CPU is running a bit toasty - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2010, 06:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default My CPU is running a bit toasty

I have never bothered to check my CPU temps, because my CPU has been fine and never crashed or become unstable or anything of the likes. But, i decided i'd have a quick check, and the results weren't good. They're extremely bad.




As soon as it hit 99c the sensor check came up as LOG. I confirmed these temps on SpeedFan.
I never suspected they got anywhere near this because if i ever reboot and check in the bios, or start up my pc for the first time, the CPU temp there says between 45 and 50. But if i check during using my desktop its around 55 to 65, and these pictures are when it's under load (between 25 and 80percent) on BFBC2 for 20minutes.

I know they should not be anywhere even approaching them temps, but in all honesty it really has not been a problem. Anyway, time for a significant underclock i think

edit:

Just realised, in the BIoS i have CPU temp warning at 70c, which is odd as i've never heard it come on, maybe my PC speaker isn't working properlly or i have it set up wrong.
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 06:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: My CPU is running a bit toasty

If i remember, one of the temp programs doesnt read 45nm chips right...

But i'm not sure which....
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 07:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: My CPU is running a bit toasty

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
If i remember, one of the temp programs doesnt read 45nm chips right...

But i'm not sure which....
Well, they both showed the same thing.

My CPU should be at 1.25v, i did have it at 1.45v, and now i've just downed it to 1.35v.HWMonitor recorded a max temp of 69c, which is much better - but still not particularly good. I'll see what the other two say.
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 07:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: My CPU is running a bit toasty

You want to keep your Max. Load temps in the Hi 50's to Lo 60's.

At those temps you've probably baked your thermal paste. I would replace it.

This maybe why you can't run 3DMark06 or Vantage
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 08:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: My CPU is running a bit toasty

It's definitely bad when your CPU is hotter than a Fermi card. :P Let the PC sit in BIOS for 10 minutes with out any use, and check the idle temps.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 04-19-2010, 08:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: My CPU is running a bit toasty

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
You want to keep your Max. Load temps in the Hi 50's to Lo 60's.

At those temps you've probably baked your thermal paste. I would replace it.

This maybe why you can't run 3DMark06 or Vantage
Who said i can't run 3DMark ? I said my PC sucks at it, it can run it just fine. Just like my CPU does 24 hours of Prime95 and Orthos absolutely fine. My CPU would of been at those temps for months, and nothings happened. Still, around 70c now which i am personally happy with.

I'm not in BiOS, but on HWMonitor at the moment. And it depends what you mean by CPU temperature, see the actual reading callled CPU says 48c.However Core 0, 1 ,2 , 3 range from 56 to 59c

I win in this situation either way, either my CPU carries along all fine and dandy, or it breaks and my parents let me 'replace' my processor with an i7. Win win.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
You want to keep your Max. Load temps in the Hi 50's to Lo 60's.

At those temps you've probably baked your thermal paste. I would replace it.
Yeh, i probably should. But i hate doing it, the clips for attatching the heatsink on my socket 775 cpu has to be one of the worst designs i have ever came across. I am positive i could come up with something 5x as easy whilst also being more secure. Even an extremely simple screw based system would be far easier.
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 08:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: My CPU is running a bit toasty

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
Who said i can't run 3DMark ? I said my PC sucks at it, it can run it just fine.
When you posted this it sounded like you were having problems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
My PC fails at 3dMark06, i have a good GPU and CPU and the rest is just crap. But i'll download it and give it a shot, along with Vantage.
And since you still haven't posted any results I just assumed you couldn't get it to run.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 08:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: My CPU is running a bit toasty

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
When you posted this it sounded like you were having problems.



And since you still haven't posted any results I just assumed you couldn't get it to run.
Ah, nope. Just forgot

I'll do it at some point.
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 02:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: My CPU is running a bit toasty

It's amazing what a good dusting, cpu fan re-orientation and new thermal compound can do.

In this case, knock 14c off my idle temps.
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 07:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: My CPU is running a bit toasty

Ohh! 20c off my load temps

Then again there was a heck of a lot of dust, to the point i had to walk away from the computer for respiratory problems (really).
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 (64 Bit), CPU speed won't go down CalcProgrammer1 Microsoft Windows and Software 5 10-21-2009 07:58 PM
Here ye Here ye I need a cpu cooling solution but more importantly your advice Kyrone Overclocking and Modding 8 07-18-2009 12:13 AM
is my CPU running hot? Fayt19 Overclocking and Modding 4 08-16-2008 08:53 AM
Difference between 32 or 64 bit. Gaviston Microsoft Windows and Software 7 05-06-2008 09:01 PM
CPU Running at 91 C!!! HELP! King$nake Overclocking and Modding 9 02-20-2008 11:20 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.