My Comp parts - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2005, 01:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Syk
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 57
Send a message via ICQ to Syk
Post My Comp parts

Gigabyte GA-K8NF-9 Mobo
1GB Patriot DDR 400(pc3200)
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice 1GHz FSB 512KB L2 Cache
MSI NX6600GT-TD128E Geforce 6600GT 128MB 128-bit GDDR3

Whats the ups and downs of this setup?
and what would you guys perfer over this
__________________

Syk is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 02:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

get a 6600GT instead of the 9800. You will be happy u did. Also, I am not font of ASUS products.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 02:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Syk
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 57
Send a message via ICQ to Syk
Default

why not asus? ive always had good luck with them
Syk is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 02:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 496
Default

Heyyo,

Now, we don't know his budget. Of course, if you can scretch it, get a 6600gt, it's a pretty good vidcard, just avoid I think the xfx versions of the agp cards that are the original build, the revised version is fine.

If I were you, just get a 9800 Pro 128MB. the diff between 256MB and 128MB is minimal. No games out right now are 256MB optimized. Oh, and if you can, check n' see if ti's an r350 core or r360. Obviously the r360 core will do much better than the r350.
__________________
Later-A-Much, and LONG LIVE THE D!
æ ThE_MarÐ
ThE_MarD is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 02:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

ehh, people here will say there fine, but i think that their quality has taken a dump. I have seen alot go bad in my day working at the local computer store.

price or 9800pro = 6600GT

6600GT will own the 9800. just wait till the more of us expierence people are in here. Plug, check out the bench marks. Dont listen to him.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 02:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Syk
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 57
Send a message via ICQ to Syk
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102361
thanks the card im thinkin of
Syk is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 02:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Guess you will learn the hard way. Sorry.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 02:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Syk
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 57
Send a message via ICQ to Syk
Default

well i guess tell me and ill take advice? but i guess not then ... huh
Syk is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 02:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...ht=6600gt+9800

edit

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...ht=6600gt+9800

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...ht=6600gt+9800

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...ht=6600gt+9800


Bench marks

http://graphics.tomshardware.com/gra...ml#3dmark_2005

What is better?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 02:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Syk
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 57
Send a message via ICQ to Syk
Default

well wats better the PCI-E or the AGP Version of the card?
and the brand of the card?

wat about the MSI Version of it?


MSI or GIGABYTE either or neither?
__________________

Syk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.