my 6800gt overclock results - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2006, 11:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 100
Default my 6800gt overclock results

Hi, i have a p4 3.0ghz, 1gig of ram, and a 6800gt (agp8x)

I recently overclocked my 6800gt from 350/1000 to 400/1100, ultra speeds, temps are a bit higher, but is very stable, and does not crash or artifact. Thing is, games like dod source and stuff have lower fps counts especially HDR maps, going to as low as 30fps. The same settings in the video options were tried for the 350/1000 and 400/1100. help pls.
__________________

enthusiast1917 is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 12:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

What card do you have and what mobo?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 01:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 100
Default

thanks for the reply p.p mguire, i have a eVGA 6800gt, and some OEM mobo from my pc manufactuerer.
enthusiast1917 is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 02:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

hdr eats your babies!

What fps do you get on stock speeds to compare with the overclocked speeds.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 02:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

what kind of resolution are you playing at... my 6800 gs is overclocked fairly high (485/1150) and i havent noticed any sort of huge drop.. but then again, i don't think i've played any hdr maps in cs... i should give that a try sometime
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 03:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

try cs_militia
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 03:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 100
Default

um, 1024 x768, with settings with the recommened * next to it, and without o/c i get 50-100 with oc 30-70 or somewhat, im going on the basis of how many times i see the gameplay become choppy and the fps counter going red, but i was wondering if in any way possible, a stable overclock could reduce ur fps
enthusiast1917 is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 11:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

well i had the same problem when i had it at 500/1.2 ... it was a pretty bad case... the fps would get so low... and after about 45 min of play, the artifacts would come... maybe you should just clock it down a lil bit, and what kind of temps are you getting?
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 11:37 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

take the clock down a bit. sounds like overheating. if you ever run into symptoms like this downclosk, there is no use having a "stable" overclock if it doesn't improve performance. the devil in overclocking is finding the best compromise.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 07:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 100
Default

oh, i see thank you. ill try mess around with the settings a bit. and my temps depend on the kind of day it is, right now its at 62-63 idle and goes up to 86-87 when i stress it out with atitool's scan for artifacts thing. are these temps high?
__________________

enthusiast1917 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.