Multipliers...... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2006, 08:25 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

which is exactly the same as the program I attached in the thread I linked to him

The one you linked is a little FANCIER looking I guess, but they both do the same thing.

EDIT: Scratch that, yours even does the HTT, OOOOOOOOOOOOH!!! FANCY SCHMANCY!!
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 09:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default

Ok, I downloaded the app you linked, Nubius. I couldnt get the other one to work. Anyway, so how do I use this program?

I assume for the reference clock I put my clock speed?
Multiplier of 13
Memory divider.......where do I find that?
__________________

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 10:08 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Reference clock is your HTT....so naturally by default it's 200.

Memory divider....it's whatever you set it dude lol. If you've left it stock then it'll be at 200 also. This is what you'd have it set in the BIOS. Basically this is allowing you to figure out the best combination of HTT, memory divider, and multiplier and whatnot.

So in my case I wanted to try to get my RAM around 233MHz, I kept playing around with it, until I found out that setting my HTT to 285, memory divider to 166 would give me 233MHz for my RAM to run at (DDR466) and my CPU at 2.565GHz which is basically where it caps out.

My main point was to show you how your memory is effected when using a half multi like 13.5


So for you, if you left your HTT at 200, and changed the multi to 13.5 for 2.7GHz, your memory would be running at 192MHz even though the memory divider is still at 200.....that's the effect of the half multi.
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 10:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Reference clock is your HTT....so naturally by default it's 200.

Memory divider....it's whatever you set it dude lol. If you've left it stock then it'll be at 200 also. This is what you'd have it set in the BIOS. Basically this is allowing you to figure out the best combination of HTT, memory divider, and multiplier and whatnot.

So in my case I wanted to try to get my RAM around 233MHz, I kept playing around with it, until I found out that setting my HTT to 285, memory divider to 166 would give me 233MHz for my RAM to run at (DDR466) and my CPU at 2.565GHz which is basically where it caps out.

My main point was to show you how your memory is effected when using a half multi like 13.5


So for you, if you left your HTT at 200, and changed the multi to 13.5 for 2.7GHz, your memory would be running at 192MHz even though the memory divider is still at 200.....that's the effect of the half multi.

Thanks for the info, I appreciate it.

So, at what speed do you think my ram should be to achieve 2.7ghz+?
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 10:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I don't know, it's your RAM

Depends on whether or not you want to overclock it or not.

250HTT x 11multi = 2.75GHz and using a 166 memory divider your RAM would run at 196MHz sooooo that's using the basis that you want to stay as close as 200MHz as possible, but like I said that's entirely up to you if you want to keep it to 200 or try overclocking it yourself.

If your ASUS there has a lot of memory dividers, then be sure to click the DFI checkbox, all that does is enable the memory dividers that you'd normally see in a DFI bios. A lot of non OC'ing boards though, will only have the options you see in there.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.