Multipliers - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2006, 03:50 PM   #21 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

i'm lost here.. are you saying its good or bad to use the unlocked multiplier.. in my experience, i'd say its bad to put your multiplier up... because my friends fx57 performs like poop at 2.8 compared to my 2.8 with a 10 multiplier
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 03:51 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default

its good but i personally dont do it
__________________

__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 03:58 PM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NosBoost300
i'm lost here.. are you saying its good or bad to use the unlocked multiplier.. in my experience, i'd say its bad to put your multiplier up... because my friends fx57 performs like poop at 2.8 compared to my 2.8 with a 10 multiplier
It's horrible NOT to use it. See, the thing is, the FSB is how fast the CPU "communicates" with the rest of your computer (RAM, GPU, HDD, etc). When you raise the FSB, you are actually raising the speed of all your components, not just the processor. It's better to have 100MHz with a 10x multiplier for 1GHz rather than 200MHz with a 5x multiplier for 1GHz.

Side note; i've got unlocked multipliers, but i'm currently running at 204MHz x11 (for 2244MHz), and that's the highest multiplier i can get. I've got 5-11, increasing in halfs (5, 5.5, 6...)
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 04:07 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default

11x166 is what im at now but 11x200 gives way better performance then 13.5x166 (I have tried both)
__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 04:12 PM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

It's a bit more damaging to the other components as well as the processor with a higher FSB instead of multiplier.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 05:18 PM   #26 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

ya.. i myself prefer fsb as well... it gives much better results IMO.. which is why it seems the people with the lesser processor seem to get the better scores in super-pi
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 12:51 AM   #27 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

you can change the multiplier on pre-1998 cpu's
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 11:10 AM   #28 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
dude shutup people on p3's would kill for somthing like that...
pfft conroe is a heavily modified, dual core P3 with a higher clock speed at heart
Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 12:50 PM   #29 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
pfft conroe is a heavily modified, dual core P3 with a higher clock speed at heart


hahahah
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.