Multiplier Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2005, 03:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 119
Question Multiplier Problems

my rigs specs are in the signature. ive got it oc'ed to about 2.5. any higher and it gets unstable but it idles at 32 C and the highest ive seen it is at 60. the problem i have is when i try to OC in the BIOS (v 10009.007, newest as of 5 wks ago) i can play with the system bus/mhz but the multiplier is locked at 11. do i need to play with this? How do I unlock it? have i hit my OC wall?
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 3400+ s939 / ASUS A8V Deluxe (K8T800Pro) / Kingston Dual Channel DDR 400 (2 x 256) Corsair Value DDR 400 (2 x 512) / ATI Radeaon 9600XT / Seagate 120 GB/
deadweight is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 03:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

i have heard that the AMD64's multipliers can only be turned down.
__________________

__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 04:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Xteam is correct, they cannot be moved up, only down. The FX series can go up or down however I believe.
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 07:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 119
Default

well, do i want to change it? is that whats causing system instability? i know it can take more heat can i change it?
__________________
AMD 64 3400+ s939 / ASUS A8V Deluxe (K8T800Pro) / Kingston Dual Channel DDR 400 (2 x 256) Corsair Value DDR 400 (2 x 512) / ATI Radeaon 9600XT / Seagate 120 GB/
deadweight is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 05:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

The only thing that's causing instabilities is you overclocking it without fully understanding what it takes to keep the system stable. The multiplier only effects your clock speed, the Vcore is what effects stability and is also what causes more heat in addition to the extra clock speeds.. If you want to lower your multi to raise your FSB then you can do that, but if you keep the CPU and RAM at a 1:1 ratio then you're overclocking the RAM and your CPU will be underclocked until you get the HTT and the multiplier to equal more than the stock speed.

If it's 200x10 = 2GHz on stock and you lower your multi to 9, then you'd have to go all the way to 222x9 = 2GHz, so that's only effecting your memory.

Have you made sure to read the basics of overclocking at the top of the thread? You should really familiarize yourself with the basics before you start to jump into it.
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.