MSI P35 Plat Chipset e6300 safe volts? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2007, 08:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default MSI P35 Plat Chipset e6300 safe volts?

Im wanting to clock my cpu a bit higher and im just wondering what are the max voltages you would put to the nb/sb/fsb and cpu to without frying them. Im not wanting to go right to the edge of safety, im just wondering what would be a large enough increase to be noticed when overclocking but not too much to damage my components?

Im hoping to hit my aim of a 500 FSB, which will be 3.5GHz, though it would be good if I could get a little higher.
__________________

__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 08:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: MSI P35 Plat Chipset e6300 safe volts?

I would say 1.55 is the safe limit. 1.6 is max, depending on the temperature. But 1.6 isn't really recommended for 24/7 use. The most I use for 24/7 use, is 1.5v.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 08:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: MSI P35 Plat Chipset e6300 safe volts?

Oh thats good because im on 1.325 now with a 470MHz FSB. How much juice do you have to the FSB/NB/SB?
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 08:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: MSI P35 Plat Chipset e6300 safe volts?

At this moment, I have my chipsets, set to 1.45v
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 08:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: MSI P35 Plat Chipset e6300 safe volts?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaanish View Post
Oh thats good because im on 1.325 now with a 470MHz FSB. How much juice do you have to the FSB/NB/SB?
Very nice...the B2 steppings are quite good. I miss mine.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 09:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: MSI P35 Plat Chipset e6300 safe volts?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
Very nice...the B2 steppings are quite good. I miss mine.
Yes I didnt think that it would be this easy.

I am scared about feeding too much voltage through my XMS2 though. Does anyone know if they will work with 2.2v?
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 09:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: MSI P35 Plat Chipset e6300 safe volts?

YAY for E6300 b2 stepping i got one too ! Can't wait to buy new RAM in 2 weeks !
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 09:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: MSI P35 Plat Chipset e6300 safe volts?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaanish View Post
Yes I didnt think that it would be this easy.

I am scared about feeding too much voltage through my XMS2 though. Does anyone know if they will work with 2.2v?
Your sticks are rated for 2.1v
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 09:36 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: MSI P35 Plat Chipset e6300 safe volts?

Vanish , whats your VCore at now ?
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 12:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: MSI P35 Plat Chipset e6300 safe volts?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Preacher View Post
Vanish , whats your VCore at now ?
Well im at 3.15GHz now and CPU-Z shows 1.296v. Im running orthos blend.

After 10 mins of orthos blend my core 1 is 39C and my core 0 is 43C.
__________________

__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSI P35 Plat BIOS Flash- Strange, but not disastrous, results... Vaanish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 10-23-2007 03:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.