MSI K8 Neo-F - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2006, 01:30 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

The platnium neo4-f doesnt have more sata ports. It has just as many as the neo4-f regular. They both have 4. Its just that the neo4-f has 4 sata I ports. The platnium edition has 4 SATA I/II ports.
__________________

__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 01:43 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

I'm not the type of person who complains about games loading 2 seconds longer than my friends' PC, so do I need SATA2? Is there a huge difference in performance between SATA and SATA2 when it comes to raw read/write speeds, and loading?
__________________

__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 03:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

Sata II has a higher bandwidth, but a 7200rpm HDD doesnt even use all of the bandwidth of SATA I. So right now, no. But in the future we might get HDDs that will use all the bandwidth capabilities of SATA.
__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 04:19 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

but not for a long while.

the only disadvantage I think there is with the Neo4-F is having a single PCI-E 16X slot, as opposed to 2. though you won't be using SLI though?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 04:21 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

My Neo4-F is ok for me, cause instead of getting two cards in SLI, I blew all my money on a single x1900. Well it was definately worth it.
__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 06:57 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Nope, SLI would be really nice if I had too much money, but I doubt I would ever get 2 GFX cards! I'm not particularly rich, saving my arse off, and selling my current PC, just to scrape money together to buy a budget "performance" PC. And the Neo4-F suits my pocket just fine. Looking to get that, the X2 3800+, and a 7900GT. How does that sound?
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 08:12 AM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default

Sounds good, and I'm sure you'll love the mobo!
Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 06:36 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Great choice on a great board.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 07:35 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

I love MSI products, I just hate it when there auto updater grabs the platinum bios for a regular board, makes things a little messed up... Dunno why but there Platinum BIOS for my K8N Neo-FSR really screws overclocking up and causes several errors at bootup...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 08:42 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 406
Default

i have this exact board you have and its very nice and everything works perfectly plus it overclocks very well too
__________________

__________________
AMD 3200
2x512 coasair valueselect
eVGA 6800gs
MSI Neo4-f
Anec true power 480 watts

-92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are part of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy this.
SomeIranianKid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.