moving a wc system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2008, 09:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default moving a wc system

Lets say im going to a lan party. Do i have to empty the entire setup and then refill at the lan? or is it safe to move in the same condition it is in like when running.

Thanks, taintedplay
__________________

__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 04-02-2008, 10:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: movign a wc system

It should be safe unless you chuck it around.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-02-2008, 11:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: moving a wc system

i would try to keep it up right at all times...
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 04-02-2008, 11:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: moving a wc system

it depends... if you've got some plastic barbs in your system, you'll want to make sure they are twisted in tight after transport or maybe even during transport because if the tubing starts to swing or sway, the plastic barbs may come out (loctite = uber)

also, I've heard somewhere that if you have your waterblock on too looesly or too tightly, it may physically damage your CPU while being bumped around in a car (same with a regular heatsink I think)

otherwise it should be fine, it would be smart to jump start the PSU with only the loop to check for leaks for a short amount of time (ie. ~10 minutes), make sure to check all the barbs and fittings
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 02:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: moving a wc system

Never had a problem moving mine about.

Make sure all your fittings have some heavy duty clamps on them. I.E. worm drive clamps, and that everything is held in place properly.

As long as it doesn't undergo major trauma you should be fine.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black Viper's Top tweaks for a faster PC xXxexpertxXx Overclocking and Modding 0 02-21-2008 10:04 PM
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.