Moving internals from case to case. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2007, 01:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Moving internals from case to case.

Hi, about a week from now, I'm going to be moving my internals from my NZXT Apollo to my new CM Stacker 830 SE, which I can't wait to see some temp drops. The reason why I haven't done it yet is because I'm awaiting my 7 120mm fans and my new CPU HS which I've just ordered today. But I need a few pointers on the best methods of approaching this.

I already know how I'm going to start this. First, before I start unplugging wires and removing parts, I'm going to be sure that I have a pair of socks on, and rub them really fast on my carpet. Then I'll use a big fat magnet to pick up any dropped screws. /sarcasm

Ok here's my question. Right now, I've got my cpu running at 3.0ghz on a rather high 1.375 voltage. This is a fair bit higher than on stock settings. My concern is that when I seat my new Enzotech HSF with new as5 on my e6600, the cpu may have big heating issues because the as5 won't be completely settled. Is this something to worry about? Should I just go ahead and revert back to my default BIOS settings just to rule out the possible heat issues from having higher-than-normal voltages? Thank you.
__________________

__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 01:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Moving internals from case to case.

1.375 aint shiznat

So no, you don't have to worry...besides, AS5 "settling" only makes 2-4c difference at best.

Also, the bios may reset on its own since the power is cut completely.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 04:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: Moving internals from case to case.

Ok sweet lol. I just mean that 1.375 is rather high for 3.0ghz. If I stress tested alot, I could probably take the voltage down quite a bit and still maintain that clock. I was just looking for a way to get 3.0ghz the quick way heh. But that's good that I don't need to mess with BIOS. My mobo does have a CMOS battery, so I guess it can hold the settings for a while, which it has before
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 07:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: Moving internals from case to case.

Yeah, CMOS battery should have your BIOS settings saved for quite a while.... years....
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air Cooling Guide SirCyber Overclocking and Modding 5 01-03-2008 12:58 PM
Almost final computer build needs reviewing + case suggestions Shinzen New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-12-2007 05:57 AM
Gonna buy a new case becuase I CAN...not to sure what to get Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 46 08-12-2007 12:05 PM
Thoughts on the Antec 900 joey1 New Systems | Building and Buying 69 07-14-2007 06:04 AM
Better case? mnelson07 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 06-17-2007 01:57 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.