Move over 3dMark: New OpenGL-based 3D benchmark - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2007, 06:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Move over 3dMark: New OpenGL-based 3D benchmark

Move over 3dMark: New OpenGL-based 3D benchmark

A new 3D benchmark focusing on lighting effects and performance, aptly dubbed Lightsmark, has been released for free by Czech software author Stepan Hrbek. In the end it is still an artificial benchmark, but they still have a place in your software toolbox.

Unlike 3DMark and other complex benchmarks, this one offers quite good looks and performance to lower and more affordable segment of 3D market. Thanks to efficiency of OpenGL 2.0, a flyby scene featuring global illumination and penumbra shadows can run on mid-class hardware.

__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-10-2007, 08:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Move over 3dMark: New OpenGL-based 3D benchmark

meh...im waiting for 3dmark08.
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 11-10-2007, 08:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Move over 3dMark: New OpenGL-based 3D benchmark

Wouldn't hurt to try while waiting.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 11-10-2007, 11:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Move over 3dMark: New OpenGL-based 3D benchmark

The images look descent, though they need anti-aliasing.

how well can water be rendered in OpenGL?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-10-2007, 11:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Move over 3dMark: New OpenGL-based 3D benchmark

requires a Radeon 9500 or higher..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-10-2007, 11:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Move over 3dMark: New OpenGL-based 3D benchmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
requires a Radeon 9500 or higher..
Aww, you still cant get a modern bench.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 12:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Move over 3dMark: New OpenGL-based 3D benchmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
requires a Radeon 9500 or higher..
pwnt.............n00b
mgcook is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 01:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Move over 3dMark: New OpenGL-based 3D benchmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
requires a Radeon 9500 or higher..
man...you just keep gettin hurt by these!!!
sometimes i just feel like buying you a gfx card since i feel so bad...
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 01:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Move over 3dMark: New OpenGL-based 3D benchmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
man...you just keep gettin hurt by these!!!
sometimes i just feel like buying you a gfx card since i feel so bad...
i dont....he can buy a new one once he gets old enough to get a JOB and EARN what he gets.

mommy and daddy shouldn't buy kids everything they want. i know i'd not buy my kid a $2k PC
mgcook is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 01:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: Move over 3dMark: New OpenGL-based 3D benchmark

LOL vernong. I used a 9200 back in 2004, it was able to (barely) handle Rome: Total War. I suggest trying it out I really liked it and your system can handle it believe it or not. So you'll have something to play while you wait for your parents to buy you a new rig.
__________________

__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.