Motherboard swap and OC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2011, 03:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
overlord20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: spokomptan
Posts: 2,308
Default Motherboard swap and OC

I was wondering since I haven't switched my motherboard after an OC, must I revert back down to stock speeds before I switch boards?

I have to RMA my board and I don't want to screw my cpu or ram up by putting in a fresh board. Help appreciated.
__________________

overlord20 is offline  
Old 08-25-2011, 08:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Motherboard swap and OC

All your settings are stored in the mobo bios, so when you change boards your settings will stay with the old mobo, your new mobo will be set at the defaults.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 08-25-2011, 06:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
overlord20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: spokomptan
Posts: 2,308
Default Re: Motherboard swap and OC

That won't effect anything then?
overlord20 is offline  
Old 08-25-2011, 07:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Motherboard swap and OC

If you install a new mobo you'll need to adjust your basic settings and you may have to reinstall Windows.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 08-31-2011, 04:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
overlord20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: spokomptan
Posts: 2,308
Default Re: Motherboard swap and OC

It is the same exact motherboard. Just won't have my current clocks. Must bump up ram and CPU the second I get the new one in! My Ram doesn't like my motherboard at lower speeds. And I don't like my ram at lower speeds so it works out.
overlord20 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
250GB PS3 motherboard fried can I buy a 80 or 120 GB & swap hard drives? Budraco Sony Playstation 2 06-15-2011 05:08 AM
Ram Swap Deadpixel New Systems | Building and Buying 3 11-29-2008 07:20 PM
<b>Motherboard Swap</b> golumstoe New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-25-2008 11:52 AM
Processor swap...okay to direct swap? BoysNightOut System Upgrades 3 06-27-2006 08:52 AM
Swap this smileygladhands Linux and Open Source 5 01-31-2006 10:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.