motherboard replacement suggestions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2004, 01:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 16
Default motherboard replacement suggestions

i think i fried my motherboard so i need to get a new one... i'd kinda like to not spend a whole lot of loot on it... the board i fried was a soyo dragon KT600 Dragon Plus.. v.1.0...im curious if anyone knows a board that would be a good replacement... possibly even better, iv had some compatibility problems with this one.. im runnin a athlonXP 2600+ and i don't want integrated video...
__________________

311Homebrew is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 01:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

dude u didnt fry ur mobo, and what is ur vid card... iv never seen 1 with aud in crap like that...
im telling u again, u didnt fry ur mobo...
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 06:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 16
Default

it's a ati 128 pro all-in-wonder
311Homebrew is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 06:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 16
Default

and also i reset cmos and that didn't work... for real... iv tried like 20 different things and nothing works... what else could it be... it was working fine until i started messin with the audio on the card... i think i might have plugged something in backwards and maybe reversed the polarity and fried a circuit
311Homebrew is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 06:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

dude ther are many ati aiw cards taht have 128 mb of ram. and there are NO cards with sounds output or inputs that i know of... none of the atis do.. the audio goes into the SOUND card.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 04:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah man there's no audio connection on a graphics card. Audio is all PCI Bus based information whether it's in the actual PCI slot or onboard. Here try this:

http://techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=17935

Try step number 5. That's what I'm having to do currently =/ It'll give you a better idea of what component is causing the problem
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.