Motherboard Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2004, 07:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 42
Question Motherboard Question

What's everyone's opinion on this motherboard for an AMD 64 3000+ w/ 512 L2.

It's a GIGABYTE GA-K8NS PRO nForce3 250 Chipset
link

If anyone has suggestions, I'm all ears-
I'd like to try to keep it around 100 (or cheaper is better)
__________________

melcher88 is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 08:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

You have one too many http's in your link but that's OK. As for your mobo, I like it a lot!

-Dan The Man
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 10:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 144
Default

Gigabyte makes great motherboards. I like this one because it has the N-force 3 chipset. Great all-around motherboard. Definately go for it.
__________________
R.Y.N.O. (Rip Ya a New One)
Diabolic Minotaur ATX Case
Asus A8V Deluxe MoBo Wifi Edition
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ CPU
2x Corsair 512MB PC3200 DIMM\'s
2x Western Digital 120GB Serial ATA Harddrives in RAID 0
Asus 16x DVD-rom Drive
Pioneer 16x DVD+rw/-rw DL Drive
eVGA Geforce 6800 GT
Aspire 500w PSU
Circa219 is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 11:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
You have one too many http's in your link but that's OK.
Thanks OIDanTheManIO, i fixed it.lol
melcher88 is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 03:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Ahh damnit. Ag3 was just telling me something about the Gigabyte boards not supporting the lower latencies supported by other boards. However, I'm not sure if this applies to all AMD64's or just socket 939 being that I was inquiring about socket 939 at the time
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 06:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 42
Default

Is this the best board for my money, or should i keep shopping around? I saw ASUS had a pretty good deal on one similar.
__________________

melcher88 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.